- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Bicentennial Celebration 2016

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST

Explore County Bicentennial Activities > Bartholomew County Bartholomew County

Bartholomew County Courthouse
Q&A with County Coordinator Lynn Lucas

What do you consider the key accomplishment(s) of your county's bicentennial celebration?

  • Countywide partnerships, activities and events that resulted in 102 torchbearer nominations, three celebration events during the Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay and 27 endorsed Bicentennial Legacy Projects.

What Legacy Project do you most like to tell people about, and why?

  • "Columbus Indiana Bicentennial Mural" celebrated the legacy of art and design in Columbus/Bartholomew County. Ivy Tech students used the history of our community to design a 70-foot mural for downtown Columbus. After students presented design concepts to a selection committee, they installed/painted the mural by the arrival of the Bicentennial Torch Relay in September, 2016.

Describe a highlight or most memorable moment related to your county's bicentennial celebration.

  • The Torch Relay Celebration event at the Bartholomew County Public Library on September 18, 2016, from 2-8:30 p.m. was attended by 1,500 people. Entertainment included family-centered booths, food booths and a program featuring local officials and torchbearers. 900+ people also visited the Bicentennial Experience mobile exhibit throughout the afternoon and evening.

How / where are you preserving information and artifacts related to your county's celebration?

  • Bartholomew County Historical Society
  • County Government - Bicentennial Torch
  • The Republic newspaper archives.
  • Video produced by local radio station, WCSI.  

Total number of volunteers who participated?

  • 150+ on committees

Estimated total attendance?

  • 1,500 at Celebration Event"

Bartholomew County Legacy Projects

Photos from Bartholomew County Bicentennial Events / Activities

Bartholomew CountyBartholomew County Torch RelayBannerMayor DayMayor Lunch

Bartholomew County Facts

Bartholomew County was formed on February 12, 1821 and was named for Lt. Col. Joseph Bartholomew, wounded at the Battle of Tippecanoe.The site of the county seat was chosen on February 15, 1821 by a team of commissioners, who suggested the name Tiptona, in honor of John Tipton; on March 20, the name Columbus was adopted.

Second Street Bridge, Columbus, Bartholomew County, Indiana. Photo by Brett Smith.In 1991, the American Institute of Architects rated Columbus sixth on its list of the top 10 American cities for architectural quality and innovation, right up there with Chicago, New York and San Francisco. That’s pretty amazing for a town of just 44,000 residents.

Seventy of the county's buildings and structures were designed by world-class architects/designers. Seven of the city’s modern buildings have also been designated as national historic landmarks, and enough people travel from nearby towns and states — and even other countries — to see them that the local visitors center gives bus and walking tours.

Zaharakos - Find an ice cream parlor of stained glass, carved oak, and marble - and a marvel of ice cream & other treats.Tourists may come to Columbus for the modern architecture, but they can’t leave without stopping at Zaharakos, an ice cream parlor that was built in 1900 and restored in 2009. It’s full of brass chandeliers, dark woodwork, marble counters and listen to  Welte orchestrion, a self-playing organ.

County Seat: Columbus
Year Organized: 1821
Square Miles: 406.91


Bartholomew County Bicentennial Committee

  • Michelle Bottorff
  • Barbara Johnson
  • Mary Rigsby
  • Mark Jones
  • Brian Payne
  • David Steinkoenig
  • Pam Lienhoop
  • Mayor James Lienhoop
  • County Commissioner Larry Kleinhenz
  • Rick Weinheimer
  • Lloyd Brooks
  • Harry McCawley
  • John Clark
  • John Foster
  • Brian Blair
  • Kyle Hendricks
  • Joyce Orwin
  • Taffy Schroer
  • Marilyn Brackney
  • Julie Aton
  • Rebecca Speaker 
  • Christina McCord
  • Dan Wallace
  • Tracy Fugate
  • Tony Moravec
  • Diane Robbins
  • Hutch Schumaker
  • Kevina Schumaker
  • Don Harvey
  • Dody Harvey
  • Sara Kuhns
  • Tim Grimm
  • Robin Hilber
  • Ali Crimmins
  • Randy Simms
  • Melina Fox
  • Anuja Gupta Chandra
  • Bonnie Boatwright
  • Curtis Hartwell
  • Jason Hatton
  • Mary Claire Speckner
  • Dan Hollander
  • Dick Boyce
  • Robin Gray
  • Don Nissen
  • Erin Hawkins
  • Barbara Garton
  • Norma Flores
  • Keith Maddox
  • Peter King
  • David Hayward
  • April Williams
  • Ann Hedrick
  • Margaret Powers
  • Paula Herlitz
  • Barb Hackman
  • Andy Young
  • Karen Niverson
  • John Kestler
  • Lynne Hyatt
  • Jen Morrill
  • Samantha Aulick
  • Brenda Vogel
  • Katia Hatter
  • Karen Shrode 
  • County Commissioner Rick Flohr
  • County Commissioner Carl Lienhoop
  • Jan Banister