Indiana Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline
If you suspect a child is being abused or neglected, call the Indiana Department of Child Services' Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline today. It is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, including weekends and holidays. You can report abuse and neglect anonymously.
Do not wait for someone else to make the call. Your call may be the critical first step in protecting a child.
What is the Indiana Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline?
The hotline serves as the reporting center for all allegations of child abuse or neglect in the state of Indiana.
Click here for the Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline Fact Sheet. Click here to view the Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline process.
Who is required to report child abuse or neglect?
Indiana is a mandatory reporting state; anyone who suspects a child has been neglected or abused must by state law make a report.
Can the person making the report remain anonymous?
State law requires DCS to protect the identity of those reporting abuse or neglect allegations. DCS keeps the name and contact information of all report sources confidential. While DCS accepts child abuse and neglect allegations from persons who wish to remain anonymous, DCS encourages individuals to provide contact information. Providing your contact information allows the family case manager who is assigned the report to follow up with additional questions if needed.
What will I need to provide when making a report?
If you call to make a report, an intake specialist will ask for information about the circumstances creating a risk of harm to the child including:
- who was involved
- what occurred
- when and where it occurred
- the extent of any injuries sustained
- any other relevant information
You may be asked for detailed information including names, addresses and phone numbers for the child, parent or alleged perpetrator. Even if you are unable to provide all of the information, please contact the hotline to make a report if you suspect a child is a victim of abuse or neglect.
What if I call the hotline and I have to wait?
If you find yourself on hold, please do not hang up. Your call will be answered by the next available intake specialist.
If all lines are down, please call 1-833-800-5556.
If you are calling regarding an emergency situation or if you believe the victim is in imminent danger, please dial 911 immediately.
What if I do not have access to a telephone?
The local DCS office will assist any individual who wishes to make a report in person. They will provide access to a telephone to make a report to the hotline. For a list of DCS local offices, please click here.
Educational neglect guidance:
Printable posters: 8.5" x 11" | 11" x 17" | 16" x 20"
National Child Abuse Prevention Month
Public Online Training and Information Course
Indiana Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline Statistics
Indiana Department of Child Services Screening and Response Time Assessment (SDM Tool)