Language Translation
  Close Menu

Local Emergency Planning Committee

The perils of today’s world require governments to be better prepared to deal with emergencies than ever before. Regardless of the nature of the emergency, state and local governments must respond efficiently and effectively on short notice.

At the local level, each county or other jurisdictional unit maintains a Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC). The LEPC reports directly to, and is a subunit of, the Indiana Emergency Response Commission (IERC) and has specific duties, mandated by law.

The Grant County Emergency Planning Committee, hereinafter referred to as the "Committee," is a state entity created pursuant to SARA Title III, the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986. The committee has been appointed by the Indiana Emergency Response Commission as a special State Appointee. The primary purpose of the Committee is to implement SARA Title III in Indiana, but its broader purpose is to enhance environmental protection and public health and safety as these are affected by chemical hazards in Grant County.

The Grant County Emergency Plan for Hazardous Material Incidents, Grant County Hazardous Analysis, and all information filed by covered facilities may be inspected in the Emergency Management Agency Office between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:00 pm. Quarterly meetings are open to the public and are attended by the following emergency responders, governmental agencies, local industry, and others who share a concern about chemical safety in Grant County. Directions to join the meeting remotely, Grant County Public Meeting - Webex Instructions

General Info
Location Grant County EMA
401 S Adams
Marion, IN 46953
Contact Information

Grant County EMA Offices
(765) 651-2410

Grant County Sheriff's Department
911 or (765) 662-9836

Document Location Grant County EMA
401 S Adams
Marion, IN 46953

Patrick Kolb


Paul David

Vice Chair

Dawn Harness


Bob Jackson

Community Emergency Coordinator

The Congress of the United States has enacted the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) to benefit local communities throughout America. Two goals within the Act are:

  1. to provide the basis for each community to develop and tailor a chemical emergency planning and response program to suit its individual needs
  2. to provide the public with the identity, quantity, location, and properties of hazardous substances located within each area.

The Indiana State Emergency Response Commission has designated a group in each of Indiana's counties that will carry out these tasks. This group is known as the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), and our function is to serve as the liaison between industry and the community.

LEPC Documents

LEPC Meeting Agendas & Minutes