Language Translation
  Close Menu

Auctioneers Licensing Information

Application Instructions

Please review the instructions for your situation to determine if you can apply online. If this option is available, go to MyLicense.IN.gov and create or log in to your Access Indiana, single sign-on account.  Complete the online application and submit payment with a credit or debit card.

It is the applicant’s responsibility to follow the instructions and ensure all requirements for licensure are submitted or requested. A customer service representative will contact you with details of what additional documentation is required to complete your application. Applications are processed in the order received.

  • Auctioneer by Examination

    Applicants will be contacted by staff to schedule the exam once requirements have been met. The exam is given six (6) times a year at the Indiana Government Center South, 402 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204.

    1. Completed Application - Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov.
    2. Application Fee - $70.00 application fee to be paid by credit or debit card for applications submitted online. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    3. Positive Response Documentation: If you answer "Yes" to any questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date, cause number, and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement. Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    4. Name Change Documentation: Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.  Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    5. Course Completion Certificate -  Must be sent from a Commission approved pre-licensing course provider.  The list can be found on the Resources page.
    6. Examination Application Fee - $35.00 examination fee to be paid by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable.

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it. Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Application by Reciprocity

    Approved States for Reciprocity are:  Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia

    1. Completed Application - Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov.
    2. Application Fee - $70.00 application fee to be paid by credit or debit card for applications submitted online.
    3. Positive Response Documentation: If you answer "Yes" to any questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date, cause number, and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement. Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    4. Name Change Documentation: Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.  Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    5. Verification of State Licensure(s) - We need verifications of licensure for all states you are currently licensed or have been licensed. All verifications must be sent directly to us from the state.

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it. Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Applicants for Registration of Auctioneer d/b/a

    Completed Application - State Form 43962 may be submitted by paper and mailed to our office.  All sections must be completed and submitted.

    This form serves as the written notice required by statute of an exempt individual notifying the Commission of operating an auction company. Per IC 25-6.1-3-4(2)(i): An individual who wishes to operate an auction company, and who is exempt under subsection (a) from obtaining an auction company license, shall, not more than thirty (30) days before the date on which the individual begins to operate an auction company, notify the Commission, in a writing signed by the individual, that the individual is operating as an auction company or as more than one (1) auction company. The individual shall specify in such written notification the trade or business name, and the address of the principle place of business, of each auction company which the individual operates.

  • Waiver of CE Requests

    Completed Application - State Form 50947 may be submitted by paper and mailed to our office.  All sections must be completed and submitted.

    Documentation - Any supporting documentation (Doctor statements, etc.)

  • Applications for Activation of an Inactive License

    Completed Application - State Form 48911 may be submitted by paper and mailed to our office.  All sections must be completed and submitted.

    Documentation - Continuing Education Certificates of Completion

  • Auction Company

    Completed Application - State Form 54894 may be submitted by paper and mailed to our office.  All sections must be completed and submitted.

    Application Fee - $70.00 application fee to be paid by check or money order payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable.

    Proof of Organizational Structure - Can be in the form of: documentation from the Indiana Secretary of State, a legal document prepared by an attorney, and/or a written, notarized agreement signed by all parties involved.

  • Pre-Licensing and CE Course Sponsor

    Completed Application - State Form 47919 may be submitted by paper and mailed to our office.  All sections must be completed and submitted.

    Course Instructor Information - Names and qualifications of all course instructors

    Course Materials - Copies of all course materials

    Sample Certificate of Completion

    All applications for providers must be approved by the Commission. Applications are reviewed only during regular meetings, so please plan accordingly.

Renewal Instructions

  • Active Renewal
    • Renew Online!
    • Auctioneer and Auction Company licenses expire February 28th of every fourth year (2020, 2024, etc.).
    • Pre-Licensing and Continuing Education Coruse Providers expire February 28th every even year (2022, 2024, etc.)
    • Renewal fees can be verified on the fee schedule.
    • Auctioneers are required to obtain sixteen (16) hours of continuing education during each four year license period. For more information regarding CE please visit our Resources page.

    Renewal notices are sent approximately ninety (90) days prior to the expiration date. License holders with valid email addresses on file will be emailed the renewal notice. Those who do not have valid email addresses on file will be mailed the license renewal notice; this notice is mailed to the address of record with the Commission. The Commission has no way of knowing whether or not a notice reaches its destination; therefore, when a notice has been emailed to a valid email address or mailed, the duty of the Commission has been performed.

  • Inactive Status

    If your license is in Inactive status, you can renew to Inactive status online. If you wish to change your Inactive status to Active, you must submit your renewal by mail along with proof of the required 16 continuing education credits. If you currently hold an Active license and wish to renew to Inactive you may renew online by selecting "Yes" when asked if you would like to put your license in Inactive status. When renewing to inactive status, you are not required to complete continuing education requirements. An auctioneer with Inactive status may not perform an act that requires an auctioneer license.

  • Renewal Documents

Exams & Testing

  • Examination Dates
    Each exam begins at Noon and ends at 4:00pm.

    Exams take place at:
    Indiana Government Center South
    402 W. Washington Street
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

    Please contact the Commission staff to schedule an exam.

    *Subject to change with 24 hour notice.  If you are scheduled for an exam the staff will contact you if a change is made.

    2022 Auctioneer Exam Dates
    • January 5th, 2022
    • March 9th, 2022
    • May 4th, 2022
    • July 6th, 2022
    • September 7th, 2022
    • November 16th, 2022
  • Examination Administration Policy

Fee Schedule

  • Auctioneer Applications/Renewals
    Auctioneer Application/RenewalFeePenaltyTotal
    Application Fee$70NA$70
    Examination Fee$35NA$35
    Renewal - Unexpired$70NA$70
    Renewal - Renewal Reinstatement fee
    (expired more than 4 years) 
    $120NA$120
  • Auction Company Applications/Renewals
    Auction Company Applications/RenewalsFeePenaltyTotal
    Issuance$70NA$70
    Renewal$70NA$70
    License Renewal Reinstatement Fee$50$50$100

 Top FAQs