Language Translation
  Close Menu

Psychology Licensing Information

Application Instructions and Requirements

  • Psychologist By Exam

    Application Checklist

    For Applicants who have graduated with a Doctoral degree in psychology from an accredited University. The applicant must be seeking approval to take the National exam.

    Completed ApplicationApplication Fee ($100)Criminal Background Check
    Positive Response Document (if applicable)Official TranscriptsJurisprudence Exam
    Name Change Documentation (if applicable)National Examination Scores (EPPP) 
    Requirements Detailed:
    1. Completed Application: Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office.
    2. Application fee of $100.00: Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable.
    3. Criminal Background Check
    4. Positive Response Documentation (if applicable): If you answer "Yes" to any questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date, cause number, and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement. If malpractice, provide the name(s) of the plaintiff(s). Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    5. Name Change Documentation (if applicable): Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.  Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    6. Official Transcript: Transcripts showing conferment of a doctoral degree and program (Ph.D. or Psy.D.). Internships should be listed directly on the transcript. If the internship is not listed on the transcript, the program must provide a letter verifying the completion of the internship. The transcripts from which you obtained your degree must show that all requirements for graduation have been met and the date the degree was conferred. Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
      • If your program or internship was not APA, CPA, or APPIC approved you will be required to submit additional information for the Board to review. Please complete the Supplemental form (page 4 and 5 of the application). Please also provide a copy your syllabi for each of the subject areas claimed in the four areas and any additional information from your school that shows you meet the requirements as outlined in the statue and rules.
    7. Jurisprudence Examination: Once all above items have been reviewed and approved, the applicant will be sent a jurisprudence exam by email. All applicants for psychology licensure are required to pass a jurisprudence examination. No applicant is exempt from this requirement. You will have seven (7) days from the date the email is sent to you in order to complete the examination and return the required information to our office. All applicants will be examined on the Statute and Rules of Indiana related to the practice of psychology. This is a 50 question true-false and multiple-choice examination. Passing criteria is 75%.
    8. Examination Approval: Approval of the national exam will occur once the applicant has passed the jurisprudence examination. The applicant will then receive an exam approval from our office to take the national exam (EPPP). An applicant who has been approved by the Board to take the examination must take the examination within one (1) calendar year from the date of the initial Board approval. If the applicant has not taken the examination within one (1) calendar year from the date of initial Board approval, the approval will be invalid and the applicant must submit a new application and all required documentation must be resubmitted. No extensions will be granted.

    Testing Accommodation Request:  If you have a disability, which may require a special accommodation in taking the examination, please have your healthcare provider complete the Special Accommodations Request Form and submit it to the Board. Please ensure your name is printed clearly on the form.

    Law Exam and EPPP Clarification: All applicants will be made eligible for the state jurisprudence examination after completion of these steps. The exam materials are then emailed upon request. Applicants should complete the state jurisprudence examination then scan and email the completed answer sheet with the affidavit to the assigned customer service representative. If you have not completed your law exam within seven (7) business days, please notify our office when you would like to be emailed that notice. Statutes and Administrative Rules are available on the Psychology Home Page.

    Examination applicants will be made eligible for the EPPP after completing all requirements and successfully passing the state jurisprudence examination. At this time the Indiana State Psychology Board has not adopted EPPP part II.

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it. Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Psychologist by Endorsement - Method Expired - See Reciprocity

    Application Checklist

    For Applicants who have graduated with a Doctoral degree in psychology from an accredited University. The applicant must be currently licensed in another State, and have passed the national exam (EPPP).

    Completed ApplicationApplication Fee ($100)Criminal Background Check
    Positive Response Document (if applicable)Official TranscriptsLicense Verification
    Name Change Documentation (if applicable)Jurisprudence ExamNational Examination Scores (EPPP)
    Requirements Detailed:
    1. Completed Application: Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office.
    2. Application fee of $100.00: Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable.
    3. Criminal Background Check
    4. Positive Response Documentation (if applicable): If you answer "Yes" to any questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date, cause number, and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement. If malpractice, provide the name(s) of the plaintiff(s). Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    5. Name Change Documentation (if applicable): Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.  Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    6. Official Transcript: Transcripts showing conferment of a doctoral degree and program (Ph.D. or Psy.D.). Internships should be listed directly on the transcript. If the internship is not listed on the transcript, the program must provide a letter verifying the completion of the internship. The transcripts from which you obtained your degree must show that all requirements for graduation have been met and the date the degree was conferred. Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
      • If your program or internship was not APA, CPA, or APPIC approved you will be required to submit additional information for the Board to review. Please complete the Supplemental form (page 4 and 5 of the application). Please also provide a copy your syllabi for each of the subject areas claimed in the four areas and any additional information from your school that shows you meet the requirements as outlined in the statue and rules.
    7. Verification of State Licensure: If you hold a license or certification in another State, you must provide verification of that information. Verifications must be completed from the state of issuance and can be uploaded to your online account.  Those jurisdictions may provide their own verification, or complete our verification form here. Copies of license cards from other jurisdictions are not accepted as proof of verification of licensure.

      The top portion of this form should be completed by the applicant and sent to the appropriate state licensing board for their submission to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. The form may be duplicated if you hold multiple licenses. Other jurisdictions may charge a fee to verify licensure. You may wish to contact the state boards prior to your request for verification. You do not need to complete this form if you only hold licensure or certification in the State of Indiana.

    8. Official Score Report: The applicant must contact the ASPPB to release an official score report to our office. Your Exam Score Report showing passing score for EPPP. If you have taken a State Constructed exam, please contact the State or jurisdiction where you took the exam to provide a copy of the exam for the Board to review. The Board will then have to review your exam for equivalency.
    9. Jurisprudence Examination: Once all above items have been reviewed and approved, the applicant will be sent a jurisprudence exam by email. All applicants for psychology licensure are required to pass a jurisprudence examination. No applicant is exempt from this requirement. You will have seven (7) days from the date the email is sent to you in order to complete the examination and return the required information to our office. All applicants will be examined on the Statute and Rules of Indiana related to the practice of psychology. This is a 50 question true-false and multiple-choice examination. Passing criteria is 75%.

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it. Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Health Service Provider in Psychology

    Application Checklist

    For Applicants who have been issued an Indiana psychology license by exam or endorsement, and wish to pursue Health Service Provider status.

    Licensed psychologists must obtain endorsement as health service providers in psychology to engage in the independent diagnosis and treatment of mental and behavioral disorders. If a psychologist is not endorsed as a health service provider in psychology (HSPP), the only way the psychologist can engage in the diagnosis and treatment of mental and behavioral disorders is:

    1. To practice under the supervision of a health service provider in psychology for the purpose of qualifying for endorsement; or
    2. The psychologist holds a limited license issued under IC 25-33-1-18 and practices within the scope of the psychologist’s limited license.
    Completed ApplicationApplication Fee ($100)Form A-Verification of Internship
    Form B- Verification of PracticumForm C- Verification of Post Internship 
    Requirements Detailed:
    1. Completed Application: Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov using the Manage Attributes Feature, or completed by paper and mailed to our office.  HSPP applicants must have a psychology license in Indiana or pending psychology application submitted to the PLA to begin the HSPP application.
      • Please note that the HSPP attribute may also be requested by checking the applicable box during the online application for initial psychology licensure.
    2. Application fee of $100.00: Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable. This application fee is a separate fee from the Indiana Psychology license by exam or endorsement application.
    3. Form A Proof of Internship: The applicant must show completion of 1,500 hour internship. The form is to be completed and signed by a representative of the program. Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
      • If your internship was not APA or APPIC approved, please submit the supplemental educational form (page 4 and 5) on the psychology application.  This information will then be reviewed by the Board to ensure that your internship met the requirements as outlined in the statue and rules.
    4. Proof of Post-Internship Experience: This must be a minimum of 1,600 hours of supervised experience completed in no less than twelve (12) months including 900 hours of direct client hours. This may be obtained through:
      • Doctoral level practicum (Form B) as in 868 IAC 1.1-13-3.1 Section C,
      • Post-internship experience (Form C) as in 868 IAC 1.1-13-3.1 Section D, OR
      • A Combination of a Doctoral level practicum and post-internship experience (Form B and Form C).
        • Form B and C or form C must be completed and signed by the appropriate supervisors.  Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option. If there are multiple supervisors for the doctoral practicum and post-internship hours, multiple forms may be submitted to meet the requirement. If you worked at multiple locations under one supervisor, please have that supervisor summarize a total of hours you obtained while under their supervision. They may submit a supplemental letter indicating all locations that you worked.

    Renewal Information: If you have been issued an HSPP with a B credential at the end of your license number, you must first renew the A license, and then renew the HSPP B license. If you do not hold the HSSP with the B credential, your HSPP will be renewed automatically at the time of the practitioner’s license to practice psychology is renewed. If a Psychologist is currently obtaining a post-degree supervised experience in a health service setting, the Psychologist does NOT have to be endorsed as an HSPP as long as he/she is supervised by a psychologist who IS endorsed as an HSPP.

  • Limited Scope Temporary Psychology Permit and Temporary Permits

    Application Checklist for Limited Scope

    For applicants who are not currently licensed to practice psychology in Indiana, but do hold a license to practice psychology in another State without supervision. A practitioner may be eligible for licensure under IC 25-33-1-4.5 and may apply to the board for a limited scope temporary psychology permit that, if issued under this section, shall remain valid for a nonrenewable period not to exceed a total of thirty (30) days in any two (2) year period. A psychologist who holds a limited scope temporary psychology permit under this section may be disciplined by the board under IC 25-1-9.

    Completed ApplicationApplication Fee ($50)Criminal Background Check
    Positive Response Document (if applicable)Name Change Documentation (if applicable)License Verification
    Requirements Detailed:
    1. Completed Application: Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office.
    2. Application fee of $50.00: Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable.
    3. Criminal Background Check
    4. Positive Response Documentation (if applicable): If you answer "Yes" to any questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date, cause number, and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement. If malpractice, provide the name(s) of the plaintiff(s). Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    5. Name Change Documentation (if applicable): Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.  Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    6. Verification of Licensure: If you hold a license or certification in another State, you must provide verification of that information. Verifications must be completed from the state of issuance and can be uploaded to your online account.  Those jurisdictions may provide their own verification, or complete our verification form here. Copies of license cards from other jurisdictions are not accepted as proof of verification of licensure.
      • The top portion of this form should be completed by the applicant and sent to the appropriate state licensing board for their submission to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. The form may be duplicated if you hold multiple licenses. Other jurisdictions may charge a fee to verify licensure. You may wish to contact the state boards prior to your request for verification. You do not need to complete this form if you only hold licensure or certification in the State of Indiana.

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it. Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

    Psychology Temporary Permit Application Instructions

    For applicants who are seeking approval to take the National examination (EPPP). If an applicant has already passed the national examination (EPPP) exam they are not eligible for a temporary permit.

    Completed ApplicationApplication Fee ($50)Approval of National Exam
    Requirements Detailed:
    1. Completed Application: Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov after the primary license application has been completed and primary application fees have been processed. If you do not apply online, please provide a written statement requesting a temporary permit to our office. Please ensure your first name, last name, and profession are with the written statement.
    2. Application fee of $50.00: Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
      • NOTE: When applying online, a completed primary application must be submitted first before you apply for a temporary permit. If applying by paper you may submit the application and the request for a temporary permit at the same time.
      • The temporary permit will be issued AFTER the applicant has met all licensure requirements to be approved for their national exam.
      • Applicants are permitted one temporary permit, and this temporary permit is non-renewable.  The permit will remain valid for a period of ten (10) months. If you fail the exam, your temporary permit will become expired. If you pass your exam, your psychology license number will replace your temporary permit number.
  • Re-Exam Information

    Application Checklist

    For Applicants who have been previously approved to take the National Exam, and are request approval to re-test.

    Completed ApplicationApplication Fee ($50)Criminal Background Check
    Positive Response Document (if applicable)Name Change Documentation (if applicable)60 day wait
    Jurisprudence Exam (if applicable)National Examination Scores (EPPP) 
    Requirements Detailed:
    1. Completed Application: Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you are applying online, you must choose the obtained by method as "Exam-Repeat National." 
    2. Application fee of $50.00: Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable.
    3. Criminal Background Check
    4. Positive Response Documentation (if applicable): If you answer "Yes" to any questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date, cause number, and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement. If malpractice, provide the name(s) of the plaintiff(s). Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    5. Name Change Documentation (if applicable): Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.  Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    6. Jurisprudence Examination (if applicable): Once all above items have been reviewed and approved, the applicant will be sent a jurisprudence exam by email. All applicants for psychology licensure are required to pass a jurisprudence examination. No applicant is exempt from this requirement. You will have seven (7) days from the date the email is sent to you in order to complete the examination and return the required information to our office. All applicants will be examined on the Statute and Rules of Indiana related to the practice of psychology. This is a 50 question true-false and multiple-choice examination. Passing criteria is 75%. You will only be required to complete this step if the last attempt of your jurisprudence exam is over one year old.
    7. 60 Day Wait: Applicants must wait a period of sixty (60) days from the date of the failed examination before being approved to retake the examination.
    8. Examination Approval: The applicant will receive an exam approval notice from our office to take the national exam (EPPP) after they have been registered. An applicant who has been approved by the Board to take the examination must take the examination within one (1) calendar year from the date of the initial Board approval. If the applicant has not taken the examination within one (1) calendar year from the date of initial Board approval, the approval will be invalid and the applicant must submit a new application and all required documentation must be resubmitted. No extensions will be granted.

    Testing Accommodation Request:  If you have a disability, which may require a special accommodation in taking the examination, please have your healthcare provider complete the Special Accommodations Request Form and submit it to the Board. Please ensure your name is printed clearly on the form.

  • Information Regarding Reciprocity and Provisional Licenses
    • Licensure by Reciprocity: The Board shall issue a license to an applicant if the applicant satisfies the following conditions:
      • Holds a current license from another state or jurisdiction; and
        • that state's or jurisdiction's requirements for a license are substantially equivalent to or exceed the requirements for a license of the Board; or
        • when the person was licensed or certified by another state:
          • there were minimum education requirements in the other state or jurisdiction;
          • if there were applicable work experience and clinical supervision requirements in effect, the person met those requirements to be licensed in that state; and
          • if required by the other state or jurisdiction, the person previously passed an examination required for the license or certification.
      • Has not committed any act in any state or jurisdiction that would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license, certificate, registration, or permit to practice that occupation in Indiana at the time the act was committed.
      • Does not have a complaint or an investigation pending before the regulating agency in another state or jurisdiction that relates to unprofessional conduct.
      • Is in good standing and has not been disciplined by the agency that has authority to issue the license or certification.
      • If a law regulating the applicant's occupation requires the board to administer an examination on the relevant laws of Indiana, the Board may require the applicant to take and pass an examination specific to the laws of Indiana.
      • Pays any fees required by the Board for which the applicant is seeking licensure.
    • Provisional Licenses: An applicant for a license by reciprocity is entitled to a provisional license, if all the following conditions are met:
      • The individual signs an attestation, under the penalties for perjury, the following:
        • The individual is in good standing in all states and jurisdictions in which the individual holds a license or certificate for the occupation applied for.
        • The individual has not had a license revoked and has not voluntarily surrendered a license in another state or jurisdiction while under investigation for unprofessional conduct.
        • The individual has not had discipline imposed by the regulating agency for the occupation in another state or jurisdiction.
        • The individual does not have a complaint or an investigation pending before the regulating agency in another state or jurisdiction that relates to unprofessional conduct.
      • The individual does not have a disqualifying criminal history.
      • The individual submits verification that the individual is currently licensed or certified in at least one (1) other state or jurisdiction in the occupation applied for.
      • The individual has submitted an application for a license or certificate under this chapter with the board and has paid any application fee.
    • Expiration of Provisional Licenses: A provisional license expires on the earlier of the following:
      • Three hundred sixty-five (365) days after it is issued.
      • The date on which the board approves and issues the individual a license for the occupation.
      • The date on which the board denies the individual's application for a license or certificate for the occupation.

Renewal Forms, Renewal Information, & Approved CE Sponsors

  • Renewal Forms and Reinstatement Information

    To renew your Psychologist license by paper you must select a document below.  Print and mail the completed document with the required renewal fee to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  The address is on the document and checks should be made out to 'Indiana Professional Licensing Agency'.  If you answer 'YES' to any of the questions be sure to include a detailed response with your renewal.

    Psychologist, Limited Psychologist, and HSPP Renewal Form

    Psychology CE Sponsor Renewal Form

    Reinstatement - Expired 3 or more years
    • Complete and submit a Reinstatement Form
    • Renewal fee and application fee ($200)
    • Submit proof of twenty hours of continuing education for every year the license was invalid if you have the HSPP endorsement.
  • Renewal Cycle
      Renewal Cycle

      All licenses for the Indiana Board of Psychology expires September 1st on even years. The licenses once renewed will remain valid for two years with the last day of the renewal year to be August 31st. Reminders to renew your license will be sent out on or around 90 days prior to the expiration of the license. Once your have renewed your license please check that your license has renewed by either logging into your Access Indiana Account, or by using our Free Search and Verify. It is the responsibility of the licensee to ensure that their license has been completed, and they have completed all CE requirements. 

      Renew Online Please verify that your contact information is current before you renew.  Upon completion of the renewal process, your license to practice Psychology will be current for the next two years.

      Late Renewals & Penalty Fees If a renewal is not completed by 12:00 a.m. September 1, the license automatically becomes expired.  Additional requirements may be imposed if your license has been expired more than 3 years (see below). A $50 late fee is applied to all expired licenses.

      There is no inactive status for the Psychology license. If expired for less than three (3) years, you may renew by paying the renewal fee plus a late fee.

      Health Service Provider Renewal

      Only Psychologists who are endorsed as health service providers in psychology (HSPP) must complete forty (40) hours of continuing education during every two (2) year license period. There is no exception for retired psychologists or psychologists who practice outside of Indiana.  If you are not endorsed as a health service provider in psychology (HSPP) you do not need to complete continuing education. If you wish to surrender your HSPP status, you may do so by uploading a statement to your online account, or by submitting a written request to the Board.

      For the license period of September 1, 2022 to August 31, 2024, health service providers in psychology need to obtain forty (40) hours of continuing education credit of which 6 must be in ethics with no less than 3 category I ethics. A minimum of twenty (20) credit hours must be earned in category I courses. No more than twenty (20) credit hours will be granted for category II activities.

      Effective for the license period beginning September 1, 2004, and every license period thereafter, a psychologist must earn at least six (6) hours of continuing education in ethics, a minimum of three (3) hours of which must be Category I courses.

      Below is information on how CE is accrued if your HSPP is issued during a renewal cycle:
    • If your HSPP endorsement issuance falls before September 1, 2022, the licensee must complete forty (40) hours of continuing education in order to renew the psychology license in 2024.
    • If your HSPP endorsement issuance falls between September 1, 2022 and August 31, 2023, per 868 IAC 1.1-15-10 the licensee is required to complete twenty (20) hours of continuing education in order to renew the psychology license in 2022. By board direction, a minimum of ten (10) credit hours must be earned in category I courses and no more than ten (10) credit hours will be granted for category II activities.
    • If your HSPP endorsement issuance occurs during the second year of the biennial renewal (after September 1, 2023), per 868 IAC 1.1-15-10 he or she will be exempt from meeting the continuing education requirement for the first license renewal.
  • Continuing Education Categories

    It is the responsibility of the sponsor of a category I course to provide you with verification of your attendance of a course. You must retain verification of attendance or completion of both category I and II continuing education activities for a period of five (5) years. An official transcript will be accepted as proof of completion of a college course. Do not send verification of attendance to the board unless you are requested to do so by the board.

    You must keep your own record of your Category II courses and activities. You do not need to obtain a certificate of completion for Category II courses.

    Category I continuing education courses include the following:

    • Formally organized courses.
    • Workshops.
    • Seminars.
    • Symposia.
    • Post doctoral institutes.
    • Home study programs, including approved computer, audio, and video instructional programs, designed by board approved organizations and subject to board verification and approval procedures, not to exceed ten (10) credit hours per license period. Home study programs must provide you with a certificate of completion.

    Category II continuing education activities include the following:

    • Journal clubs, colloquia, invited speaker sessions, in-house seminars, and case conferences that are specifically designed for training or teaching.
    • Programs offered at professional or scientific meetings that are relevant to psychology.
    • Individualized learning, including approved audio and video instructional programs and formal professional supervision. Individualized learning does not include administrative supervision.
    • Preparation time for teaching a class or a workshop for other professionals.
    • If you have already earned (10) hours of home study programs in Category I, any additional hours earned for home study can be counted for Category II credit. Home study programs must provide you with a certificate of completion.

    It is the responsibility of the sponsor of a category I course to provide you with verification of your attendance of a course. You must retain verification of attendance or completion of both category I and II continuing education activities for a period of five (5) years. An official transcript will be accepted as proof of completion of a college course. Do not send verification of attendance to the board unless you are requested to do so by the board.

    You must keep your own record of your Category II courses and activities. You do not need to obtain a certificate of completion for Category II courses.

    Ineligible CE Credits

    • Courses in the management of the business aspects of the practice of psychology (practice management)
    • Teaching a course or presenting a workshop
  • Approved Continuing Education Sponsors

    All continuing education courses and activities, regardless of whether you are claiming them for Category I or II credit, must meet the eligibility requirements for board approval.

    The board automatically approves some organizations and courses they sponsor will be accepted as long as the course relates to the practice of psychology.

    These include:
    American Association for Behavior Therapy;
    American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists;
    American Association on Mental Deficiency;
    American Association of Sex Educators, Counselors, and Therapists;
    American Board of Professional Psychology;
    American Counseling Association;
    American Medical Association;
    American Orthopsychiatry Association;
    American Psychiatric Association;
    American Psychological Association;
    American Group Psychotherapy Association;
    Association for Advancement of Behavior Therapy;
    Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards;
    Feminist Therapy Institute;
    National Association of Social Workers;
    Rational-Emotive Institute;
    Society for Sex Therapy and Research;
    Society of Behavioral Medicine;
    Council on Post-Secondary Education;
    Federal, state, and local government agencies;
    Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations;
    United States Department of Education;
    A national psychological association;  
    A national, regional, state, district, or local organization that operates as an affiliated entity under the approval of any organization listed previously.
    Also approved are colleges or other teaching institutions accredited by the United States Department of Education or the Council on Post-Secondary Education.

    Credit hours shall be awarded as follows:

    • A course presented by a college under a regular curriculum is awarded one (1) credit hour for each lecture hour attended.
    • Colloquia, invited speaker sessions, in-house seminars, and case conferences that are specifically designed for training or teaching are awarded one (1) credit hour for each hour attended.
    • Attendance at a meeting of a journal club is awarded one (1) credit hour for each hour attended.
    • Individualized learning that is provided by an approved organization is awarded the same number of credit hours given to courses provided by a college. If the approved organization does not assess credit to a course under this subdivision, the course is awarded one (1) credit hour for each hour of study material.
    • Individualized learning in the form of formal professional supervision must be approved by the board and is awarded one (1) credit hour for each hour of face to face individual supervision.

    The following are awarded one (1) credit hour for each hour attended:

    1. programs offered at professional or scientific meetings that are relevant to psychology;
    2. formally organized courses;
    3. seminars;
    4. symposia; and
    5. post doctoral institutes.

    An organization or individual that is not listed above may apply to the board as a sponsor of continuing education.

    CE Sponsor Application

    This checklist is for applicants who are applying to become a Category I CE Sponsor in the State of Indiana.

    Completed Application Presenter InformationPrograms Offered
    Sample of Course PresentedSample of CE Certificate of Completion 
    • Completed Application: Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office.
    • Presenter Information: Application must provide a list of names and credentials of all presenters. Please submit a copy of their Curriculum Vitae.
    • Programs Offered: Applicants must provide a list or brochure of the courses that will be offered as a CE Provider. This must include the names of the courses and where they will be held. If they are being held virtual, it must be indicated and if the course will have an exam at the end of the course.
    • Sample Course: Please provide a copy sample of one of the courses that will be presented, or that you have presented previously.
    • Sample Certificate of Completion: Please provide a copy of your certificate of completion you will provide the professionals who have completed your course(s). Your certificate should contain at minimum the number of hours awarded, completion date, and group(s) approving Presentation (e.g., ASWB, NBCC, AMFTRB).

    The Board will review your application upon receipt of all the requested documentation.  If you have any further questions, please contact our office at (317) 234-2054 or by email at pla8@pla.in.gov.

    CE Course for Approval

    If a psychologist attends a course that is not sponsored by an approved provider as listed above, the psychologist may apply for credit for attending the course. If you want to earn credit for professional supervision (obtained after your HSPP endorsement was granted), you must apply to the board for approval:

Fee Schedule

  • Psychology Applications/Renewals
    Psychology Application/RenewalFeePenaltyTotal
    Licensure by Examination$100NA$100
    Temporary Permit$50NA$50
    Licensure by Endorsement$100NA$100
    Endorsement as Health Service Provider in Psychology$100NA$100
    Renewal of License (every two years, due August 31 of even-numbered years)$100NA$100
    Late Fee to Renew License expired up to three (3) years - paid in addition to all past due and current renewal feesVARIES$150VARIES
    Late Fee to Renew License expired three (3) years or more - paid in addition to all past due and current renewal feesVARIES$200VARIES

 Top FAQs