Close Menu

Teacher of the Year

Each year, the Indiana Teacher of the Year Program works to inspire, rejuvenate, and celebrate the teaching profession by recognizing outstanding teachers from across the state. Local schools are encouraged to follow the selection process and local Teacher(s) of the Year are encouraged to complete the state application process. The Indiana Teacher of the Year Screening and Selection Committees review all eligible applications and are made up of former INTOY recipients, IDOE staff, educational organization leaders, business and community leaders, and representatives from Higher Education. Indiana’s Teacher of the Year is selected to represent Indiana Teachers through the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) National Teacher of the Year (NTOY) program. The INTOY award is a lifetime role in education, which has many opportunities to celebrate teaching and uplift the teaching profession. INTOYs are comprised of a network of exceptional teachers whom are now retired educators, administrators, college professors, and teacher leaders that continually provide support to the education community.

District Teacher of the Year recipients are invited to complete the 2022 Indiana Teacher of the Year application by 5:00 p.m. ET, Friday July 2, 2021. Each school district may nominate their locally recognized TOYs from the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years to allow up to four teachers, two at the elementary and two at the secondary level, from each district to be considered during the 2022 Indiana Teacher of the Year selection process. For additional information, please contact our team at INTOY@doe.in.gov.

Welcome to the Indiana Teacher of the Year Program!

2022 Application Materials

INTOY Celebrations!

2020 Indiana Teacher of the Year: Congratulations to Katheryn Pourcho of Danville Community School Corporation for becoming Indiana’s 2020 Teacher of the Year!

Meet some of Indiana's recent Teachers of the Year

Indiana Teacher of the Year Sponsors

CSO ArchitectsKappa Delta PiIndianapolis Badge & Nameplate Company