Language Translation
  Close Menu

Governor's Arts Awards

The Governor's Arts Awards like you've never experienced them before.

Every two years, the Indiana Arts Commission and Office of the Governor team up to celebrate and uplift individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the state through the arts. We're excited to bring the show to you this year! Join us virtually to celebrate with our award recipients and explore the Indiana towns they call home.

2020 Governor's Arts Awards Recipients

Jim Bodenmiller, Advocate, West Lafayette

Michael Cleveland, Musician, Henryville

Hurley Goodall, Advocate, Muncie

John Green, Author, Indianapolis

Harrison Center for the Arts, Organization, Indianapolis

Amy Oelsner, Musician, Bloomington (Emerging Artist Award)

Robert and Barbara Stevens, Advocates, Columbus

Previous Award Recipients

Indiana Arts Commission, National Endowment for the Arts, and Arts Midwest logos

The Indiana Governor's Arts Awards is produced by the Indiana Arts Commission, which receives support from the Indiana General Assembly and the Nationals Endowment for the Arts. Additional support for the Indiana Governor's Arts Awards is provided by the Office of the Governor and Arts Midwest.

Donations from the Indiana Governor's Arts Awards benefit the Indiana Arts Trust. Donations to the Arts Trust endowment not only contribute to an established long-term trust but, along with funds from the IAC’s appropriation from the Indiana General Assembly, supports one exemplary Arts Project Support grant in each county across the state.

  • About the Nomination Process

    The Governor’s Arts Award (GAA) Planning Committee is responsible for the review of award nominations, and the selection of recipients and award alternates. Anyone may make a GAA nomination, including IAC commissioners, staff, and planning committee members provided the nomination follows all guidelines stipulated in the nomination form. These individuals should restrict their involvement in consideration of that specific nominee to only answering questions that may assist the committee in its review process. All committee members are eligible to vote on all nominees; including those they may have submitted for nomination.

  • Eligibility

    The Governor’s Arts Awards are open to any individual, group, organization, business or community that has made a significant contribution to or positive impact on the growth, awareness, and strength of the arts in Indiana. Individuals nominated for the award must be, or have been residents of the State of Indiana. Organizations and businesses nominated for the award must either have headquarters or operations in Indiana. Current members and staff of the Indiana Arts Commission, members of the awards selection committee, and their families are not eligible to receive a Governor’s Arts Award or create the award.

  • 2021 Awards Presentation

    The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) hired Tilt 23, a group of talented Hoosier filmmakers, to hit the road and record each recipient accepting the award in his/her hometown in a place that shows the strength and joy of arts and creativity. Along the way, we collected b-roll of all the places in-between to demonstrate that no matter where you are in Indiana, all roads lead to art.

    The original stream of the award was presented on Mandolin.

    David NeidertExecutive ProducerTilt 23
    Hannah LindgrenProducerTilt 23
    Sarah KingLine ProducerTilt 23
    Chris Keaton & Kyle FisherDirectors of PhotographyTilt 23
    Hannah LindgrenEditingTilt 23
    Kyle FisherColor MixingTilt 23
    Hannah LindgrenSound MixingTilt 23
    Jozef CaldwellSound Mixing for Amy ORussian Recording, Bloomington, IN
    Natalie GlidewellProject ManagerMandolin
    Eric HolcombGovernorState of Indiana
    Janet HolcombFirst LadyState of Indiana
    DeMaris GauntArtistAward creator
    Jim BodenmillerAdvocateAward recipient
    Tetia LeeTippecanoe Arts FederationOn behalf of Jim Bodenmiller
    Michael ClevelandMusicianAward recipient; Michael Cleveland and Flamekeeper
    Nathan LiversMusicianMichael Cleveland and Flamekeeper
    Josh RichardsMusicianMichael Cleveland and Flamekeeper
    Chris DouglasMusicianMichael Cleveland and Flamekeeper
    Jasiah ShrodeMusicianMichael Cleveland and Flamekeeper
    Cherrish PryorState RepresentativeOn behalf of Hurley Goodall
    Julius AndersonAdvocateOn behalf of Hurley Goodall
    Carl Schafer Gordy Fine Art and FramingOn behalf of Hurley Goodall
    Debbie WebbProject Coordinator, Andersontown PowwowArts Trust License Plate Project
    Michelle SkeenTreasurer, Andersontown PowwowArts Trust License Plate Project
    John GreenAuthorAward recipient
    Trent CowlesHarrison Center for the ArtsAward recipient
    Joanna TaftHarrison Center for the ArtsAward recipient  
    Barbara StevensAdvocateAward recipient
    Robert StevensAdvocateAward recipient
    Cathy FerreeIndiana State Museum and State Historic SitesOn behalf of Barbara and Robert Stevens
    Amy OelsnerMusicianAward recipient; Amy O
    Erin TobeyMusicianAmy O
    Damion SchiralliMusicianAmy O
    Nathan VollmarMusicianAmy O
    Special thanks:
    Michele HoltkampOffice of Governor Eric Holcomb
    Alec GrayOffice of Governor Eric Holcomb
    Ethan LawsonOffice of Governor Eric Holcomb
    Howard Steamboat MuseumMichael Cleveland filming location
    Fairbanks Art & Nature Park at NewfieldsJohn Green filming location
    Gordy Fine Arts and FramingHurley Goodall filming location
    Ball State UniversityHurley Goodall filming location
    Tippecanoe Arts FederationJim Bodenmiller filming location
    Landlocked RecordsAmy Oelsner filming location
    T.C. Steele State Historic  SiteBob and Barbara Stevens filming location
    Harrison Center for the ArtsHarrison Center for the Arts filming location