Language Translation
  Close Menu

Transfer Dealer

You need a transfer dealer license if you transfer ownership of at least twelve (12) motor vehicles during a twelve (12) month period as a result of your primary business. Examples of transfer dealers include financial institutions and insurance companies dealing in repossessed or salvaged vehicles.

You do not qualify for a transfer dealer license if you are someone whose business is limited to providing towing or transportation services for vehicles. However, you may qualify for transport operator plates. Information on how to apply for transport plates can be found here.

You do not qualify for a transfer dealer license if you qualify for any other license type issued by our office. Example: If you buy cars for the express purpose of fixing them up and selling them, you likely qualify for a used motor vehicle dealer license and would be ineligible for a transfer dealer license.

We encourage those wanting to obtain their transfer dealer license in the State of Indiana to review the applicable state statutes (Indiana Code 9-32) and administrative rules (Indiana Administrative Code Title 75) regarding dealer licensing. Indiana statutes and rules can be found on the General Assembly’s website at

Please be sure to fill the application out completely and submit all required documents with the application. Failure to include required information or documents can delay the processing of your application. The license application must be completed by a dealer owner or dealer manager.

Required Documents

Online application available at Help guide available here.

The following must be submitted with the completed application.

  1. Background Check*
  2. Business Entity Documentation (INBiz)
  3. Certificate of Insurance
  4. Indiana Vehicle Merchandising Certificate/Bond (SF 53966)
  5. License Fee
  6. Photo Identification
  7. Photos of the Location
  8. Retail Merchant Certificate (Indiana Dept. of Revenue)
  9. Zoning Affidavit (SF 55936)**

*Background check results more than 60 days old at the time the application is submitted will not be accepted.
**Zoning Affidavits signed by a zoning official more than 90 days prior to the date the application is submitted will not be accepted.

Location Requirements

Exemptions are available for some requirements. Questions should be submitted to

  • Cannot be a residence or temporary location
  • No other dealer is operating there
  • Able to accept mail delivery*
  • Must be :
    • in Indiana
    • accessible by the public
  • Physical location:
    • Conspicuous, permanent sign in the same name that is on your license
    • Customer parking
    • Adequate display space
    • Not at a retail complex (e.g. strip mall)
  • Office
    • 100 sq ft (minimum)
    • Furnished
    • Functioning utilities
    • Overall reflective of a functional transfer dealer



Phone: 317-234-7190

Dealer Account Helpline: 317-576-2568