You need a converter manufacturer license if you add to, subtract from, or modify a previously assembled or manufactured motor vehicle. Examples of converter manufacturers include:
- adapt vehicles for use by those with physical disabilities
- modify vehicles to create rescue vehicles
- add custom features and/or amenities to already manufactured vehicle
You need an automotive mobility endorsement on your license if you do any of the following:
- engage in the business of selling, offering to sell, or soliciting/ advertising the sale of adapted vehicles or watercraft
- possess adapted vehicles or watercraft exclusively for the purpose of resale
- engages in the business of:
- selling, installing, or servicing;
- offering to sell, install, or service; or
- soliciting or advertising the sale, installation, or servicing of;
Equipment or modifications specifically designed to facilitate use or operation of a vehicle or watercraft by an individual who is disabled.
We encourage those wanting to obtain their converter manufacturer license in the State of Indiana to review the applicable state statutes (Indiana Code 9-32) and administrative rules (Indiana Administrative Code Title 75) regarding dealer licensing. Indiana statutes and rules can be found on the General Assembly’s website at iga.in.gov.
Please be sure to fill the application out completely and submit all required documents with the application. Failure to include required information or documents can delay the processing of your application.
Online application available at dealers.sos.in.gov. Help guide available here.
The following must be submitted with the completed application.
- Background Check*
- Business Entity Documentation (INBiz)
- Certificate of Insurance
- Indiana Vehicle Merchandising Certificate/Bond (SF 53966)
- License Fee
- Photo Identification
- Photos of the Location
- Retail Merchant Certificate (Indiana Dept. of Revenue)
- Zoning Affidavit (SF 55936)**
*Background check results more than 60 days old at the time the application is submitted will not be accepted.
**Zoning Affidavits signed by a zoning official more than 90 days prior to the date the application is submitted will not be accepted.
If you engage in retail sales to the public at your location, you must meet the same location requirements as new/used dealers. You can review those here.
- Cannot be a residence or temporary location
- Appropriately zoned
- Able to accept mail delivery*
*an exception is available if your location is not serviced by USPS
Dealer Account Helpline: 317-576-2568