Language Translation
  Close Menu

Home Inspectors Licensing Information

Application Instructions

  • Licensed Home Inspector

    Go to and you will either need to create or login to your Access Indiana, single sign-on account. You will complete the online application and submit payment with a credit or debit card. You will be contacted by a customer service representative with details of what additional documentation is required to complete your application. Applications are processed in the order received.

    1. Application: Applications may be submitted online at
    2. Application Fee of $50.00: Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online.  All application fees are nonrefundable.
    3. Positive Response Documentation: If you answer "Yes" to any questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date, cause number, and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement. Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    4. Name Change Documentation: Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.  Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    5. Education: Applicants must meet the education requirements including having obtained a high school diploma or GED and a board approved training course.  Applicants must submit a copy of their pre-licensure course certificate of completion.  Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.
    6. Examination: The Board has adopted the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors' (EBPHI) National Home Inspector Examination to obtain a home inspector license. You will be required to pass this examination before you will be licensed as a home inspector in Indiana. Applicants must submit a copy of their original score report. For more information, you can go to: Exam Information.
    7. Certificate of Insurance: Applicants for licensure must have obtained insurance with general liability coverage of at least one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000.00) issued by an insurance company or other legal entity authorized to transact business in Indiana. This coverage must also list the state as an additional insured and must state that cancellation and nonrenewal of the underlying policy or other evidence of financial responsibility is not effective until the Board receives at least ten days prior written notice of the cancellation or nonrenewal. Please be sure your insurance company indicates your name (not just your company) as the insured and indicates HOME INSPECTORS LICENSING BOARD in the Certificate Holder section.  Please upload at the time of application or log back into your account and use the License Update option.

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it. Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Licensed Home Inspector Education Providers
    • Application - Apply online at
    • Application Fee of $50.00 - Pay by credit or debit card. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation to Upload -
      • Resumes for Instructors teaching courses
      • Mission Statement
      • Organization's coordinators/leadership
      • Exit Examination Materials

Renewal Instructions

  • Renewal Information

    Renewal Information
    Renew your license online using All Home Inspector's licenses renew by October 1st of odd numbered years.  Renewal notices are sent approximately ninety (90) days prior to the expiration date.  Licensees with a valid email address on file will be emailed the renewal information.  Licensees that do not have a valid email address on file will be mailed license renewal information.  This notice is mailed to the licensee's address of record with the Board. Continuing Education is required to renew your license. Information and requirements are available at the Resources page.

    Prelicensing Course Provider Renewal BIENNIAL REPORT Requirements

      Submit a biennial report, which shall contain:

      (a) A list of instructors who teach any section of the course and a curriculum vitae for the instructor if the instructor was not listed on the provider's initial application for approval; and

      (b) a roster of all students who attended the approved providers course during the previous renewal cycle and a report  on whether each student passed or failed the course.

  • Reinstatement Information

    Home Inspector Licenses

    • Reinstate Online!
    • Payment of the current renewal fee ($50) and current initial application fee ($50).  Total reinstatement fee:  $100.
    • Documentation to Upload
      • Letter of work history detailing why your license expired and what you have been doing since the license expired.
      • Proof of 32 hours of continuing education obtained within the previous 24 months following the Category I and II requirements.
      • Pass the National Home Inspector Examination provided by the Examination of Professional Home Inspectors
      • Certificate of insurance with a minimum of $100,000 in liability

    Continuing Education Provider and Pre-Course Provider
    If facility has been expired for three or more years, you may now reinstate online at  In order to do this, you must have your license number and Registration Code.  If you need your registration code, contact PLA at 317-232-2960 for the Call Center or email

  • Renewal Documents

Fee Schedule

  • Home Inspector Applications/Renewals
    Home Inspector Application/RenewalFeePenaltyTotal
    Application/Issuance Fee for Licensure as a Home Inspector$50NA$50
    Renewal - Unexpired - prior to October 1 of odd-numbered years$50NA$50
    Renewal - Expired < 3 Years - after October 1 of odd-numbered years$50$50$100
    Fee for activating a retired license $10NA$10
  • Home Inspector Continuing Education Providers
    Continuing Education ProvidersFeePenaltyTotal
    Continuing Education Provider Application$50NA$50
    Pre-Licensing Course Provider Application$50NA$50
    Provider Renewal - Unexpired - prior to September 30 of odd-numbered years$50NA$50
    Provider Renewal - Expired - after September 30 of odd-numbered years$50$50$100

 Top FAQs