Get More Information
We have restructured the Firearms Licensing Services section of our website to make it as easy as possible to manage your handgun license application process. However, if you have questions that are not answered elsewhere on our site, please check out some of more frequently asked questions below to see if someone else has already asked your question.
Q: Is there an Indiana law that prohibits me from wearing a mask while carrying a handgun?
Q: What are the fees for Handgun Licensing?
A: Fees consist of both a State fee and a local fee, and vary depending upon the type of license for which you apply. All NEW license applications incur a $11.95 fee for IDEMIA Electronic Fingerprinting to increase to $12.95 beginning July 1st, 2020. Additionally, ALL license applications incur an IN.gov processing fee of $1.00 plus 2% of the transaction amount added to the price of the service. For detailed information on Handgun Licensing fees, click the link to see our Licensing Fee Schedule page.
Q: Do the fees I pay online include local fees?
A: Fees paid online are only the State fees. Local fees cannot be paid online. Please contact your local police department or sheriff's office for information on local fee payment policies. For detailed information on Handgun Licensing fees, click the link to see our Licensing Fee Schedule page.
Q: Can local fees be paid online?
A: Local fees cannot be paid online. Please contact your local police department or sheriff's office for information on local fee payment policies. For detailed information on Handgun Licensing fees, click the link to see our Licensing Fee Schedule page.
Q: I do not want to pay online. Is there another option?
A: For applicants who do not want to use the online service, the applicant will need to bring a certified check or money order to the Indiana State Police Firearms Unit located in Indianapolis Indiana at General Headquarters. The address is 100 N. Senate Avenue, Indiana Government Center North room 302
Q: Are Handgun Licensing fees refundable?
A: A portion of the local fee is refundable if a license is not issued. The entire state fee is refundable if no license is issued. However, fees for fingerprinting are not refundable once fingerprinting has been completed. For detailed information on Handgun Licensing fees, click the link to see our Licensing Fee Schedule page.
Q: Why is my license delayed?
A: The Indiana State Police Department cannot account for every circumstance that may cause a delay in the application process. However, the following instances are some of the major reasons that cause a delay:
- If you have any criminal history, your application process will take significantly longer while we verify the disposition(s) of those events.
- If you do not have a criminal history, but our criminal history check indicates that you may have a criminal record, the process will take longer while the Firearms Unit Staff verifies that the criminal history does not belong to you.
- For applications submitted prior to October 1, 2014, if the payment amount submitted is not equal to the fee marked on the application, there will be a delay.
- If medical records or work documentation required have not been submitted, there will be a delay.
- If the application is incomplete or has invalid data, the process will be delayed.
- If the application has not been transmitted by the Local Law Enforcement Agency you went through, the Indiana State Police Department does not have the application and will not be able to process it until it is transmitted.
You can check the status of your application online at:
*** Please DO NOT CALL regarding a pending application’s status UNLESS the application has exceeded the timeline dictated by statute AND you have checked the status online as described above. ***
Q: How do I appeal a denial of my Handgun License application?
A: If your application has been denied, you will be notified by the ISP Firearms License Unit via U.S. Mail.
If you believe that your application was denied in error, send a written request to the following address:Firearms License Unit
Criminal Justice Data Division
Indiana State Police
Indiana Government Center North
100 N. Senate Avenue, Suite N302
Indianapolis IN 46204
Q: Where can I find Indiana's laws regarding firearms?
A: Indiana's laws regarding firearms are codified in the Indiana Code (IC) Title 35 Article 47 Weapons and Instruments of Violence. Regulation of handguns is covered in IC 35-47-2; sale of handguns is covered in IC 35-47-2.5; and additional provisions are listed in IC 35-47-4.
Q: I am interested in learning about Firearms Safety. Where can I find more information?
A: Please visit our Firearms Safety Information page for a list of good safety tips when handling a firearm. Additionally, you may wish to check out the gun safety pages of organizations such as the National Rifle Association, the National Shooting Sports Foundation, KidsHealth, or Project ChildSafe.
Q: I have a question that is not answered here. Where can I find more information?
A: The State of Indiana maintains a large database of frequently asked questions. You may be able to find your answer by searching "ISP Firearms" on the State's Frequently Asked Questions site. If not, the site has options to ask a question, or even chat live with a member of their support team.
Q. Can a Non-US citizen apply for an Indiana license to carry a handgun?
A: Applicants who are not U.S. Citizens, including permanent residents, shall only be issued a 5 year handgun license. Non-immigrant applicants shall produce hunting license as per 18 U. S. C. 922
*** PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS NOT AN ISP-MANAGED SITE. ***
Q: How do I contact the Indiana State Police Firearms Licensing Unit?
A: Complete information for contacting the ISP Firearms Licensing Unit can be found on our Contact page.
Q: What is a cookie?
A: Some Web sites store information in a small text file on your computer. This file is called a cookie. There are several types of cookies, and you can choose whether to allow some, none, or all of them to be saved on your computer. If you do not allow cookies at all, you will not be able to use the Limited Criminal History application. To allow cookies, you must change your privacy settings.
To change your privacy settings:
- In Internet Explorer, on the Tools menu, click Internet Options.
- On the Privacy tab, move the slider up for a higher level of privacy or down for a lower level of privacy.