ISP Board

Indiana State Police Board Meeting Schedule

The ISP Board meets pursuant to notice requirements set forth in I.C. 5-14-1.5, et seq, at 9:00 a.m. EST on the third Monday of each month, unless otherwise indicated. To view the Electronic Meeting Policy Resolution, click here. This meeting is normally held at the Indiana State Police General Headquarters unless otherwise specified.

The 2018 proposed meeting dates are:

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Location: General Headquarters

Monday, February 19, 2018

Location: General Headquarters

Monday, March 19, 2018

Location: District 34 - Jasper Post

Time: 11:00am E.D.T.

Monday, April 16, 2018

Location: District 42 - Seymour Scale House

Time: 11:00 a.m.

Monday, May 21, 2018

Buck Creek Township Fire Department
5809 West Airport Blvd
Greenfield, Indiana 46140

Adjacent to the Indianapolis Regional Airport (MQJ), formerly known as the Mount Comfort Airport

Monday, June 18, 2018

ISP Commercial Motor Vehicle Enforcement
7811 Millhouse Road, Suite S
Indianapolis, IN 46241

Time: 9:00 a.m. EDT

Monday, July 16, 2018


ISP Commercial Motor Vehicle Enforcement
7811 Millhouse Road, Suite S
Indianapolis, IN 46241

Time: 10:00 a.m. EDT

Monday, August 20, 2018


ISP District 21 - Toll Road Post
52422 County Road 17
Bristol, IN 46507

Time: 11:00 a.m. EDT

Monday, September 17, 2018

Location: General Headquarters

Monday, October 15, 2018

District 13 - Lowell Post
1550 E. 181st Avenue
Lowell, IN 46356

Time: 10:00 a.m. CDT / 11:00 a.m. EDT

Monday, November 19, 2018

Indiana Law Enforcement Academy
5402 Sugar Grove Road
Plainfield, Indiana 46168

Time: 10:00am

Thursday, December 13, 2018

Location: General Headquarters

Time: 2:00pm


Meetings are held ISP General Headquarters on the 3rd Floor of the Indiana Government Center North, 100 N Senate Avenue, in Indianapolis. The executive session begins at 9:00 a.m., followed immediately by the public session.

Indiana State Police Board Membership

The ISP Board is created by statute: I.C. 10-11-2-5.

All six members of the Board are appointed by the governor, unlike many law enforcement merit boards, which usually have a member elected by the officers. As required by the statute, "not more than three (3) may belong to the same political party," so historically the Board has been composed by three members of each of the two main parties in Indiana.

The appointments are made by the Governor. The Governor's office uses a selection process, although no particular process is required by statute. Appointment of new Board members is entirely within the Governor's purview.

The terms are staggered by statute, but the law does not require a specific rotation of members. Instead, members are appointed for a four-year term when vacancies occur, either by the end of a term or a resignation or death. The statute lists six geographic regions, and each region provides one Board member. This ensures representation of all the different areas of the state.

Indiana State Police Board Members

Mrs. Kathy J. Bawel

Mrs. Kathy J. Bawel Jasper, Indiana
Appointed – November 14, 2005
Reappointed – July 1, 2017
Term Expires – June 30, 2021

Mr. David B. Graves, Board Secretary

Mr. David B. Graves Sellersburg, Indiana
Appointed – February 2, 2006
Reappointed – July 1, 2017
Term Expires – June 30, 2021

Hon. Reuben B. Hill, Board President

Mr. Ruben Hill Indianapolis, Indiana
Appointed – January 1, 2013
Reappointed – June 10, 2016
Term Expires – June 30, 2020

Mr. John J. Ivory

Mr. John J. Ivory Elkhart, Indiana
Appointed – February 7, 2007
Reappointed – November 10, 2014
Term Expires – September 30, 2018

Mr. James J. Olszewski

Mr. James Olszewski Lowell, Indiana
Appointed – February 8, 2008
Reappointed – July 2, 2015
Term Expires – June 30, 2019

Mr. Thomas J. Wyss

Sen. (ret) Tom Wyss Fort Wayne, Indiana
Appointed – March 12, 2015
Term Expires – September 30, 2018