Important Notices - Producer & Adjuster Licensing Division (2022)
View IDOI Newsroom Page
INDIANA INSURANCE DATA SECURITY LAW. The Indiana Insurance Data Security Law, Indiana Code § 27-2-27 et seq., went into effect on July 1, 2021. The Insurance Data Security Law applies to all licensees handling or processing non-public insurance data for policyholders or members. A “Licensee” is defined as a person who either is or is required to be licensed, authorized to operate, or registered under Indiana Code Title 27, with certain exceptions. Unless exempt, insurers must file with the Indiana Department of Insurance written certification that the insurer is in compliance with the Insurance Data Security Law, on or before April 15, 2022. In an effort to streamline and increase efficiencies, the Indiana Department of Insurance has created the Annual Certification Form and Exemption Form to accomplish these reporting requirements. Resident and nonresident agents and agencies are expected to comply with the applicable provisions of the Insurance Data Security Law but are not required to file the Annual Certification Form or Exemption Form.
To read the law, visit Indiana Insurance Data Security Law § 27-2-27.
2021 EDUCATION ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETINGS. The 2022 Education Advisory Council Meetings Notice has been posted on the Indiana Department of Insurance (IDOI) homepage under the "Notices of Public Hearing" section. Posted 01/28/2022
NON-RESIDENT RETALIATORY FEE UPDATES. Effective December 1, 2021, various non-resident licensing retaliatory fee updates go into effect for non-resident applications of individuals and business entities residing in various states. The updates are detailed in the following PDF: Indiana - retaliatory fee updates and additions. Updates apply to new applications as well as renewals and reinstatements. Posted 01/28/2022
PRODUCER CONTINUING EDUCATION CARRY-OVER CREDITS. Pursuant to Ind. Code § 27-1-15.7-2.2, as added by P.L. 196-2021, if an Indiana resident insurance producer completes more than 24 hours of continuing education (CE) credits before the producer’s license renewal date, the excess or “carry-over” credit hours will be applied to the producer’s next license renewal period. The following stipulations apply to this provision:
- Applies to producer licenses renewing January 1, 2022 and after that have the 24-hour CE requirement.
- Not more than 12 carry-over hours may be applied to the next license renewal period.
- CE hours completed in the Ethics or Long Term Care course categories will not be applied as carry-over credits.
- Carry-over hours must be completed not more than 120 days before the renewal date of the Indiana resident insurance producer license. The following table shows the course completion dates on which CE carry-over hours will begin to apply to an Indiana resident insurance producer’s next license renewal period:
License Expiration/Renewal Date
Begin date on which CE carry-over hours will apply to next license renewal period
Non-Leap Year (Feb 28)
Leap Year (Feb 29)
RESIDENT INDIANA PRODUCER/AGENT TRANSFERRING TO ANOTHER STATE. The Transferring Resident License from One State to Another webpage has been updated to clarify that a resident agent transferring residency to a new state that is keeping an Indiana business address and conducting business in Indiana only (not the new resident state) may keep their resident Indiana producer license and update their resident address only online through either www.nipr.com or www.sircon.com/indiana. Posted 9/14/2021
NON-RESIDENT RETALIATORY FEE UPDATES. Effective April 9, 2021, various non-resident licensing retaliatory fee updates go into effect for non-resident license renewals and reinstatements of individuals and business entities residing in various states. The updates are detailed in the following NIPR notice: Indiana - retaliatory fee updates and additions. The updates apply to renewal and reinstatement applications only. The following IDOI document includes a comprehensive listing of retaliatory fees for new/initial license applications (many updated 1/1/2021—see 12/31/2020 notice), renewals and reinstatements: Indiana Non-Resident Retaliatory Fees. Posted 3/2/2021
LICENSE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS AND SERVICES. Information on license reporting requirements and services for producers (agents/agencies) and adjusters has been updated online at https://www.in.gov/idoi/2450.htm. This webpage is intended to be the most comprehensive and up-to-date listing of producer and adjuster license reporting requirements and services with the Indiana Department of Insurance. Licensed individuals and business entities are encouraged to review and reference the webpage on an ongoing basis. Posted 2/12/2021
INDEPENDENT ADJUSTER EXAM ADMINISTERED THROUGH PEARSON VUE BEGINNING MARCH 1, 2021. Beginning March 1, 2021, the Indiana Department of Insurance (IDOI) Independent Adjuster examination will be administered by Pearson VUE. The last day for exams through AdjusterPro is February 28, 2021.
This newly developed exam features updated content and the ability to take the exam onsite at a Pearson VUE, Ivy Tech or Ball State testing center, or remotely through ONVUE—Pearson VUE’s online proctoring service. Candidates and education providers are encouraged to review the updated exam Content Outlines and Candidate Handbook incorporating the addition of the Independent Adjuster exam.
Scheduling of the Independent Adjuster exam through Pearson VUE will begin February 18, 2021 for exams on or after March 1, 2021. Exams may be scheduled online at https://home.pearsonvue.com/in/insurance. Posted 1/15/2021
2021 EDUCATION ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETINGS. The 2021 Education Advisory Council Meetings Notice has been posted on the Indiana Department of Insurance (IDOI) homepage under the "Notices of Public Hearing" section. Posted 1/6/2021
NON-RESIDENT RETALIATORY FEE UPDATES. Effective January 1, 2021, various non-resident licensing retaliatory fee updates go into effect for non-resident license applications of individuals and business entities residing in various states. The updates are detailed in the following NIPR notice: Indiana - retaliatory fee updates and additions. The updates apply to new/initial license applications only. Associated updates to license renewals and reinstatements are expected to go into effect on February 1, 2021 for renewals and reinstatements expiring on or after April 30, 2021. Posted 12/31/2020