Language Translation
  Close Menu


What is Employment Discrimination?

The people of Indiana are entitled by law to work and seek employment without being discriminated against on the basis of their disability, national origin, ancestry, race, color, religion, gender and their status as a veteran. Complaints must be filed within 180 days of the discriminatory act.

View the Workplace Harassment Brochure here.

  • Are all employers subject to these rules?

    No. Under Indiana law, only employers who employ six or more people are subject to these guidelines.

    Certain types of organizations are also exempted:

    • Nonprofit corporations or associations organized exclusively for fraternal or religious purposes
    • Any school, educational, or charitable religious institution owned or conducted by or affiliated with a church or religious institution
    • Any exclusively social club, corporation, or association that is not organized for profit.  IC 22-9-1-3(h)
  • What to do if you feel you've been the victim of employment discrimination:
    • Call, write or visit the Commission within 180 days of the date in which the alleged act of discrimination occurred and describe the situation you feel was discriminatory. An experienced Intake Specialist will listen, advise and assist you accordingly.
    • The Commission works cooperatively with its federal counterpart, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.
  • Who is considered an employee?

    Under Indiana law, "employee" means: any person employed by another for wages or salary except for:

    • Someone who is employed by their parent, child, or spouse
    • Someone hired as domestic service, i.e., someone hired to work within the household of another person (personal housekeeper, babysitter, etc.) IC 22-9-1-3(i)

 Top FAQs