Language Translation
  Close Menu

Employability Skills

Senate Enrolled Act 297 states that not later than July 1, 2019, each school within a school corporation shall include interdisciplinary employability skills standards established by IDOE, in conjunction with the Department of Workforce Development, and approved by the State Board of Education, in the school's curriculum.

Indiana’s Employability Skills Standards allow students to be prepared for the ever-changing needs of today’s workforce. These standards are to be implemented beginning in the 2019-2020 school year. The expectation is for students to work through the standards in multi-subject areas. As students move through grade levels, they will work with and experience the standards at those grade bands (K-2, 3-5, 6-8, 9-10, and 11-12).

The standards are based on the National Employability Skill Standards from the Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education (OCTAE), the Indiana Department of Workforce Development’s Employability Skills Benchmarks, the Governor’s Work Ethic Certificate, and the Indiana Department of Education’s Social Emotional Learning Competencies. The standards are arranged within four key areas: Mindsets (M), Work Ethic (WE), Learning Strategies (LS), and Social and Emotional Skills (SE).

Employability Skills Continuum 07/26/2019 Google Sheets | Excel
Employability Skills Competencies 05/01/2019 PDF
K-2 Employability Skills 05/01/2019 PDF
3-5 Employability Skills 05/01/2019 PDF
6-8 Employability Skills 05/01/2019 PDF
9-10 Employability Skills 05/01/2019 PDF
11-12 Employability Skills 05/01/2019 PDF