Language Translation
  Close Menu

Advanced Placement, International Baccalaureate, and Cambridge

Advanced Placement (AP)

Advanced Placement (AP) courses enable students to pursue college-level studies while still in high school. Each of the 38 AP courses is modeled upon a comparable college course, and college and university faculty play a vital role in ensuring that AP courses align with college-level standards. Each AP course concludes with a college-level assessment developed and scored by college and university faculty and experienced AP teachers. Most four-year colleges and universities in the United States, as well as universities in more than 60 countries, recognize AP in the admission process and grant students credit, placement, or both on the basis of successful AP Exam scores.

International Baccalaureate

The International Baccalaureate (IB) offers high quality programs of international education to a worldwide community of schools. Indiana is proud to have schools authorized in all three programs offered: the Primary Years Programme (PYP) for students aged 3 to 12, the Middle Years Programme (MYP) for students aged 11 to 16, and the Diploma Program (DP) for students aged 16 to 19. All three programs strive to develop the intellectual, personal, emotional, and social skills to live, learn, and work in a rapidly globalizing world. IB programs include a curriculum framework, age-appropriate student assessments, professional development for teachers, and support, authorization, and program evaluation for the schools.

Cambridge International Program

Cambridge Assessment International Education (Cambridge International) is a part of the University of Cambridge. This program is an instructional system that aligns curriculum, pedagogy, and assessment for students in grades K12. The Cambridge scores are accepted for college credit or placement. Cambridge International is recognized by nearly 600 colleges and universities in the U.S. In Indiana, Cambridge International is recognized by DePauw University, Indiana University, Purdue University, University of Evansville, University of Notre Dame, University of Indianapolis, and Wabash College