Close Menu

Executive Staff

IDHS Executive Team

  • Executive Director - Joel Thacker
    Joel Thacker

    Gov. Eric J. Holcomb appointed Joel Thacker as executive director in June 2022. He served as Indiana State Fire Marshal from 2020 to 2022. Thacker began his career as a first responder in 1992 as an EMT and volunteer firefighter in central Indiana. Five years later, he became a career firefighter serving in Brownsburg and then Johnson County's White River Township. Thacker served in Brownsburg as assistant chief before moving to Plainfield in 2015 to become division chief of fire prevention and administration. He was sworn in as Plainfield fire chief in 2017.

    Thacker earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from Indiana Wesleyan University and a master's degree in criminal justice and public safety from IUPUI.

    Email the State Fire Marshal

  • State Fire Marshal - Vacant
    State Fire Marshal logo


  • Director of Emergency Management - Mary Moran
    Mary moran

    Mary Moran has extensive experience in disaster response and recovery, earned from 21 years with the agency. She joined the state as a program coordinator in mitigation for what was then the State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) before IDHS was formed in 2005. She has served as the state hazard mitigation officer, mitigation branch chief and most recently as the state recovery officer. Moran has a master’s degree in emergency management from Indiana University.

    Email Mary Moran

  • State Building Commissioner - Craig Burgess
    Craig Burgess

    In 2017, Governor Eric J. Holcomb appointed Craig Burgess as the State Building Commissioner, part of IDHS. Before becoming the building commissioner, Burgess held positions as the Plan Review Section Chief, which helped him become familiar with Indiana building codes and how they are applied. He is a registered architect, holds certifications from the International Code Council and the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards and is a LEED-accredited design professional. With more than 30 years of architectural experience, he strives every day to help make sure Indiana's buildings, elevators, amusement rides, boilers and pressure vessels are safe for Hoosiers.

    In his free time, Burgess can be found listening to and playing music. He can play around 30 songs on the banjo, guitar and piano. Outside of the rare and occasional jam sessions at Arthur's Music, playing instruments is reserved for only him. He can also be found cycling, reading and occasionally woodworking. Burgess has created a few wooden decorative and storage pieces for his relatives, friends and personal home.

    Email the Plan Review section

  • Director for Administrative Services - Elliot Anderson
    Elliot Anderson

    Elliot Anderson joined IDHS in 2020 as deputy general counsel and became deputy director for administrative services in 2021. Before IDHS, Anderson spent more than a decade as a practicing attorney representing public safety, building services, administration and finance departments.

    Anderson is a native Iowan and graduated from the University of Iowa with a bachelor's degree in history. He earned his law degree from Indiana University. When not at work, Anderson is usually trying to wrangle his toddler and spending time outdoors. He also enjoys the occasional round of golf and frequent family trips to the zoo.

    Email the Public Affairs Section