Language Translation
  Close Menu

Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan Update

Marion, IN (March 14, 2017) – Grant County, in cooperation with the Town of Converse, Town of Fairmount, Town of Fowlerton, City of Gas City, City of Jonesboro, City of Marion, Town of Matthews, Town of Swayzee, Town of Sweetser, Town of Upland, and Town of Van Buren has prepared an update to the 2009 Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan (MHMP) to address the risk and vulnerability of communities in the County which may be affected by known natural, technological, and political hazards.

The Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (DMA 2000) requires communities to update their MHMP every 5 years in order to be eligible for any future mitigation funding through the State Department of Homeland Security and the Federal Emergency Management Agency. The intent of the MHMP is to plan for a disaster before it occurs in order to reduce the physical, social, and economical impact of that disaster.

The draft Grant County MHMP Update has been placed in the Grant County Emergency Management Agency Office (401 South Adams Street). An electronic version may be accessed below. Topics covered in the Update include an overview of the planning requirements; a summary of the risk assessment and vulnerability analysis; and proposed mitigation projects for prevention, property protection, natural resource protection, emergency services, structural control projects, and public information.

Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan