Main Content


Governor's Arts Awards - Past Recipients

2018 Gayle and the late Bill Cook, Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art at Indiana University, Dr. F. Robert Sabol, Rami Sadek and LangLab, Twyla Tharp, and Addison Agen (emerging artist award)
2015 Dance Kaleidoscope, Robert & Ellen Haan, Jon Leslie "Wes" Montgomery, Jim Davis, American Pianists Association, Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds
2013 Christel DeHaan, Cynthia Hartshorn, John Hiatt, Mayor Mark Kruzan, Sydney Pollack, and Traditional Arts Indiana
2011 The Children's Museum of Indianapolis, June Edwards, Mark Fauser, Susann McDonald, Sylvia McNair, Alexander Toradze
2009 Angela Brown; Ball Brothers Foundation and George and Frances Ball Foundation; International Violin Competition of Indianapolis; Sweetwater Sound, Inc.; Vectren Corporation
2007 Henry Leck and the Indianapolis Children's Choir, Menahem Pressler, Fischoff National Chamber Music Association, Lori Efroymson-Aguilera, Jamey Aebersold, The City of Jasper
2005 Peter and David Turnley, Murcie Poplar Lavender, Richard Ford, Tim & Avi’s Salvage Store, and Arts United of Greater Fort Wayne
2003 Joshua Bell, Eugene and Marilyn Glick, Old National Bancorp., the City of Rising Sun, Eric Rogers and ArtsPlace, Inc., and the late Governor Frank O'Bannon and Judy O'Bannon
2001 Avery Brooks, John and Virginia Schroeder, Lotus World Music and Arts Festival, VSA arts of Indiana, Mayor Duane W. Dedelow, Jr. and the City of Hammond
1999 Larry Leggett, Larry Hurt, George Daugherty, Cinergy, and Bill Caddell & Friends of the Frankfort Public Library
1997 Kathy Matter, Maestro Raymond Leppard, Dr. R. Keith Michael, Ameritech Indiana, and the Foundation for Arts and Music in Education (FAME)
1995 Janos Starker, Thomas Schorgl, Angelo Pizzo, Norbert Neuss, John David Lutz, the Indianapolis Recorder, the City of Fort Wayne, and First Source Corp.
1993 Karl Malden, Crystal Gayle, Etheridge Knight, Rita Eykamp, Alma Eikerman, Josie Orr, Arts Indiana Magazine, the City of Columbus, and NIPSCO Industries
1991 The Hampton Family, David Anspaugh, David Baker, Janet and G. Irving Latz II, the City of Elkhart, GTE North - Indiana
1989 J.J. Johnson, Mark Hampton, Dr. Charles Webb, Harrison Eiteljorg, the City of Evansville, and Eli Lilly & Co.
1987 Helene Foellinger, John Nelson, William Hopper, the City of Jasper, Krannert Charitable Trust, and Cummins Engine Co.
1985 Margaret Harshaw, Jared Carter, Steve Tesich, Dr. Thomas Bergin, and Lincoln National Corp.
1983 Mildred Compton, Ron Glass, Cole Porter, Josef Gingold, David Rubins, Michael Graves, and the Indianapolis Museum of Art
1981 Gretchen Cryer, J. Irwin and Xenia Miller, Harry Mark Petrakis, Rudy Pozzatti, Robert Wise, George Irving Shirley, and the Honorable John Brademas
1979 Bill Blass, Alfred Bertram Guthrie, Jr., Margaret Hillis, Emily Kimbrough, Ruth Page, Dr. James McCracken, David Smith
1977 Jessamyn McPherson-West, Jane Blaffer Owen, Nathaniel Owings, and Dr. Herman B Wells
1975 Hoagland Carmichael, John Eaton, Eli Lilly, Janet Flanner, George Rickey, Herbert Seltz, and Dr. Izler Solomon
1973 Robert Indiana, Kurt Vonnegut, Jr., Dr. Alice Nichols, and Dr. Wilfred Bain