Hours & Directions

Hours of Operation (all times Eastern)

The Indiana State Library is open: 

Mon., Tues., Wed. & Fri. 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed except for dates listed below
Sunday Closed

Open Saturdays 2018

Beginning in January of 2018, the library will now be open on the second Saturday of each month.
In addition the library will also remain open during library special events, such as the Genealogy Fair, Vision Expo, Letters About Literature and Poetry Out Loud.

* Saturday Hours - 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

January 13th July 14th
February 10th August 11th
February 17th - Poetry Out Loud September 8th
March 10th September 29th
April 14th October 13th
April 28th October 27th - Genealogy Fair
May 12th November 10th
June 9th December 8th

Open Saturdays 2019

January 12th July 13th
February 9th August 10th
February 16th - Poetry Out Loud September 14th - Vision Expo
March 9th October 12
April 13th November 9
May 11th December 14
June 8th  

2018 Holiday Closings

The Indiana State Library will be closed on the following state and federal holidays, and Saturdays:

New Year's Day Monday January 1, 2018
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday January 15, 2018
Good Friday Friday March 30, 2018
Primary Election Day Tuesday May 8, 2018
Memorial Day Monday May 28, 2018
Independence Day Wednesday July 4, 2018
Labor Day Monday September 3, 2018
Columbus Day Monday October 8, 2018
General Election Day Tuesday November 6, 2018
Veteran's Day Monday November 12, 2018
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 22, 2018
Lincoln's Birthday Friday November 23, 2018
Washington's Birthday Monday December 24, 2018
Christmas Day Tuesday December 25, 2018

2019 Holiday Closings

The Indiana State Library will be closed on the following state and federal holidays, and Saturdays:

New Year's Day Tuesday January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday January 21, 2019
Good Friday Friday April 19, 2019
Primary Election Day Tuesday May 7, 2019
Memorial Day Monday May 27, 2019
Independence Day Thursday July 4, 2019
Labor Day Monday September 2, 2019
Columbus Day Monday October 14, 2019
General Election Day Tuesday November 5, 2019
Veteran's Day Monday November 11, 2019
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 28, 2019
Lincoln's Birthday Friday November 29, 2019
Washington's Birthday Tuesday December 24, 2019
Christmas Day Wednesday December 25, 2019

Parking Information

Many downtown garages within walking distance of the State Library offer commercial parking. Metered parking is available on most downtown streets, including Ohio St. and Senate Ave. An interactive map showing parking in downtown Indianapolis is available from Indianapolis Downtown, Inc.

Directions to the Indiana State Library

Indiana State Library
315 West Ohio Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202-3210 ( Get Directions )

Nearby Hotels and Places to Eat

Visitors to the Indiana State Library who need to find a place to stay or a restaurant should visit the Indianapolis Downtown website , or check the Indianapolis Convention & Visitors Association website . There are also two cafeterias within the Indiana Government Center within a few minutes of the State Library.

Updated SA 11-27-2018