Language Translation
  Close Menu

MS4s Administering a Construction Program

Phase I, MS4

The City of Indianapolis is a Phase I community and has authority to regulate storm water run-off control from active construction sites and post construction activities within all of Marion County, except for the Cities of Beech Grove, Lawrence, Southport and Speedway. The City of Indianapolis has established provisions in Chapters 100 (policies that address the quality of storm water run-off), 600 (erosion and sediment control) and 700 (design standards) of the city’s Storm Water Design and Construction Specifications Manual that provide detailed requirements for compliance with the local program.

Under an agreement with the City of Indianapolis, the Marion County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) is provided the opportunity to comment on submitted Construction Plans, but the actual review of the plans is conducted by the City of Indianapolis. Once a plan is approved, a copy is required to be submitted to the Marion County SWCD. As part of the agreement, the SWCD will also conduct site inspections for erosion and sediment control on behalf of the City.

The City of Indianapolis receives a permit fee, separate from that of Rule 5, and issues its own permits for construction activities. Project site owners are still required to submit an NOI letter, proof of publication, permit fee, and Construction Plan approval verification from the review authority (in this case, the City of Indianapolis or their designated agent) to IDEM at least 48 hours prior to the start of land-disturbing activities.

Phase II MS4 Entities

MS4s with a Certified Construction Program are listed in the table below.
Construction plans are required to be submitted to the MS4. Plans should be submitted according to protocol established by the MS4 and in accordance with the MS4 ordinance. Contact information for the MS4 can be obtained at Designated MS4 Entities Currently Permitted.

MS4s that are highlighted have not submitted a Construction Certification.
Plans are to be submitted to the (SWCD/IDEM) according to protocol for established for compliance with 327 IAC 15-5 (Rule 5).

Note: Construction projects that are located on the property or are associated with colleges, universities, and the state and federal prison System are considered to be owned and operated by the MS4. Therefore, plans must be submitted to the (SWCD/IDEM) according to protocol for implementation of 327 IAC 15-5 (Rule 5).

CountyMS4 Entity
AdamsDecatur, City of
AllenFort Wayne, City of; IU/PU-Fort Wayne, Ivy Tech State College-Northeast, Indiana Institute of Technology, University of Saint Francis
AllenNew Haven, City of
AllenAllen County; Huntertown, Town of; Leo-Cedarville, Town of
BartholomewBartholomew County
BartholomewColumbus, City of
BooneZionsville, Town of
BooneLebanon, City of
CassLogansport, City of
ClarkOak Park Conservancy District
ClarkClarksville, Town of
ClarkSellersburg, Town of
ClarkJeffersonville, City of
ClarkClark County
ClintonFrankfort, City of
DaviessWashington, City of
DearbornHidden Valley Lake CDP (Dearborn County)
DecaturGreensburg, City of
DekalbAuburn, City of
DelawareDelaware County, Ivy Tech State College-Muncie
DelawareYorktown, Town of
DelawareBall State University
DelawareMuncie, City of
DelawareDaleville, Town of
DuboisJasper, City of
ElkhartElkhart County, City of Elkhart, City of Goshen, Town of Bristol
FayetteConnersville, City of
FloydIU -Southeast (New Albany)
FloydNew Albany, City of
FloydFloyd County
FloydGeorgetown, Town of
GrantMarion, City of Indiana Wesleyan University
HamiltonArcadia, Town of
HamiltonFishers, Town of
HamiltonHamilton County; Cicero, Town of; Carmel, City of
HamiltonWestfield Public Works
HamiltonNoblesville, City of
HancockMcCordsville, Town of
HancockGreenfield, City of
HancockNew Palestine, Town of
HancockFortville, Town of
HancockHancock County
HendricksHendricks County
HendricksBrownsburg, Town of
HendricksPlainfield, Town of
HendricksPlainfield Correctional Facility
HendricksDanville, Town of
HendricksPittsboro, Town of
HendricksAvon, Town of
HenryNew Castle, City of
HowardHoward County
HowardKokomo, City of
HowardIU -Kokomo
HuntingtonHuntington, City of
JacksonSeymour, City of
JeffersonMadison, City of
JohnsonBargersville, Town of
JohnsonGreenwood, City of
JohnsonNew Whiteland, Town of
JohnsonJohnson County
JohnsonWhiteland, Town of
JohnsonFranklin, City of
JohnsonEdinburgh, Town of
KnoxVincennes, City of
KosciuskoWarsaw, City of
LakeLakes of the Four Seasons POA
LakeMunster, Town of
LakeNew Chicago, Town of
LakeLowell, Town of
LakeSt. John, Town of
LakeMerrillville, Town of
LakeCrown Point, City of
LakeDyer, Town of
LakeCedar Lake, Town of
LakeLake Station, City of
LakeGary, City of; Ivy Tech State College-Northwest
LakeGriffith, Town of
LakeSchererville, Town of
LakeLake County
LakeHobart, City of
LakeHighland, Town of
LakeEast Chicago, City of
LakeIU -Northwest (Gary)
LakeHammond, City of
LaPorteLaPorte County; LaPorte, City of Michigan City, City of; Trail Creek, Town of Long Beach, Town of
LaPorteIndiana State Prison-Michigan City
LawrenceBedford, City of
MadisonPendleton, Town of
MadisonAnderson, City of Anderson University
MadisonIngalls, Town of
MadisonMadison County
MadisonPendleton Correctional Facility, Correctional Industrial Facility
MadisonAlexandria, City of
MadisonChesterfield, Town of
Madison-MarionEdgewood, Town of
MarionSouthport, City of
MarionCumberland, Town of
MarionSpeedway, Town of
MarionLawrence, City of
MarionBeech Grove, City of
Marion Morgan HendricksTri-County Conservancy District
MarshallPlymouth, City of
MiamiPeru, City of
MonroeIvy Tech State College-Bloomington
MonroeEllettsville, Town of
MonroeMonroe County
MonroeIndiana University-Bloomington
MonroeBloomington, City of
MontgomeryCrawfordsville, City of
MorganMooresville, Town of
MorganBrooklyn, Town of
MorganMartinsville, City of
MorganMorgan County
NobleKendallville, City of
PorterChesterton, Town of
PorterTwin Creeks Conservancy District
PorterPortage, City of
PorterValparaiso Lakes Conservancy District
PorterPorter, Town of
PorterPorter County
Porter(Abderdeen) Nature Works CD
PorterValparaiso, City of; Valparaiso University
PutmanGreencastle, City of; DePauw University
ShelbyShelbyville, City of
St. JosephSt. Joseph County, Town of Osceola, Town of Roseland
St. JosephNotre Dame, University of
St. JosephMishawaka, City of; Bethel College
St. JosephSouth Bend, City of; Ivy Tech State College - North Central
St. JosephSaint Mary’s College
St. JosephIU -South Bend
SteubenAngola, City of; Tri-State University
TippecanoeTippecanoe County, City of Lafayette, City of West Lafayette, Purdue University, Town of Battle Ground, Town of Dayton, Ivy Tech State College-Lafayette
VanderburghSouthern Indiana, University of
VanderburghVanderburgh County
VanderburghEvansville, City of
VanderburghEvansville, University of
VanderburghIvy Tech State College-Southwest
VigoTerre Haute, City of; West Terre Haute, Town of; Vigo County, Town of Seelyville, Indiana State University, Ivy Tech State College-Wabash Valley, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Honey Creek-Vigo Conservancy District
VigoUS Penitentiary-Terre Haute
WabashWabash, City of
WabashChandler, Town of
WarrickNewburgh, Town of
WarrickWarrick County
WayneRichmond, City of; Earlham College
WayneIU - East (Richmond)
WhitleyColumbia City, City of

 Top FAQs