Indiana law states that drivers must obtain an oversize and/or overweight vehicle permit before traveling on Indiana roads if their vehicle exceeds:
- 13 feet 6 inches in height;
- 8 feet 6 inches in width;
- 60 feet (two-vehicle combination) or 53 feet (semi-tractor-semi-trailer combination) in length; or is
- 80,000 pounds gross vehicle weight (subject to axle weights).
The Oversize/Overweight (OSW) unit at DOR Motor Carrier Services (MCS) helps drivers make these loads non-divisible and properly marked to ensure the safety of all motorists.
Applying for a permit for the first time? Read more about setting up an OSW Transporting Account.
Customers can apply for, pay and print OSW permit(s) and general provisions online, 24/7. The majority of requests are typically approved on the next business day; however, other factors may extend wait times. Permits will be approved automatically if the applicant selects a predetermined route that fits their load’s dimensions.
To reduce the chances of a permit being delayed or rejected, applicants are encouraged to plan or check their route on the INDOT Truckers’ Info website before applying for a permit. Taking the extra time to ensure all permit data is entered correctly in the permit application portal also avoids rejects and manual reviews.
Click on the link below to download the OSW manual
Oversize/Overweight (OSW) Civil Penalties
Under Indiana Code 9-20-18-14.5(b), a person (or company) who obtains an OSW permit and violates Indiana Code 9-20 (including violation of permit guidelines) is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $500 for the first violation and not more than $1,000 for each subsequent violation.
Under Indiana Code 9-20-18-14.5(c), a person (or company) who transports vehicles or loads under Indiana Code 9-20 and fails to obtain the required permit(s) is subject to a civil penalty not more than $5,000 for each violation.
Civil penalties are:
- Imposed on the person (or company) whose USDOT number is registered on the vehicle transporting the load; and
- In addition to any fines and/or penalties that may have been separately assessed under Indiana law by law enforcement or a court.
Customers who receive a proposed assessment letter for OSW violations from DOR Motor Carrier Services (MCS) have 60 days from the date of the proposed assessment letter to pay in full or protest the assessment. Details on how to pay or submit a protest are contained in the proposed assessment letter.
Settlement agreements may be available by contacting the DOR’s Legal Division at OSWsettlement@dor.in.gov within 60 days of the date of the proposed assessment letter. Initiating settlement negotiations with DOR does not remove a customer’s right to protest within 60 days of the date of the proposed assessment letter.
Bulk Milk Transports
In June 2020, INDOT waived holiday travel restrictions for permitted overweight bulk milk transports weighing up to 154,000 lbs. GVW only. This includes vehicles permitted with single-trip overweight permits and those with annual bulk milk permits. For more information, call Motor Carrier Services at (317) 615-7320 or email IndianaOSW@dor.in.gov.
In addition to obtaining a permit, drivers must follow signage, escort and other guidelines. These guidelines are listed on M-204, General Provisions of an Oversize/Overweight Vehicle Permit. A copy of M-204 must be kept with the OSW permit.
In some cases, loads are required to have an Indiana State Police escort.
For more information about OSW, refer to MCS Frequently Asked Questions or call (317) 615-7320, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. EST.
- DOR MCS Forms and Applications
- OSW Permitting Fee Chart
- Active Permit Services
- Crated Items
- Sealed Ocean Container Permit
- Special Weight Route Information
Maps and Road Conditions
- Current Indiana Road Conditions
- Current Indiana Road Detours and Restrictions
- Current Weather Conditions
- Federal Bridge Calculator
- I-465 and I-469 Direction of Travel
- Indiana Posted Bridge Map
- Indiana State Maps
- Toll Road Map