Language Translation
  Close Menu

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What does the County Council do?

    The Grant County Council is a seven-member board consisting of one council member for each of the four county districts, plus three at-large members. They make financial decisions for the Grant County Government, including setting salaries for county employees. They also set the county's budget and make decisions, as needed, on any additional appropriations during the year. They are the fiscal branch of county government and control all revenue collection, and spending in the county. The council members serve four-year terms, with the three at-large members being elected in Presidential election years, and the four district members being elected in the off-Presidential election years. The council also has limited authority to impose local taxes, in the form of income and property taxes (which are subject to approval at the state level), excise taxes, and service taxes.