Close Menu

DRE Awards Program

Now in its sixth year, the Indiana Drug Recognition Expert awards program was created by the Indiana Criminal Justice Institute to recognize the contributions made by Indiana’s drug recognition experts (DRE). A DRE is a police officer who has received specialized training to help identify drivers under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

In total, there are five performance-based award categories:

  • Longevity Awards for years of service
  • Emeritus Awards for contributions made in retirement
  • Ambassador Award for outside support of the program
  • Evaluation Award for the number of DRE evaluations conducted in a single year
  • Leadership Awards for going above and beyond the call

Formerly known as the DRE Officer of the Year and DRE Instructor of the Year, the leadership awards were renamed in 2017 in honor of fallen DRE officers: Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department Officer David Moore, who was killed in the line of duty in 2011, and Indiana State Police Lieutenant Gary Dudley, who was struck and killed while participating in a charity bike ride for the Indiana chapter of Concerns of Police Survivors in 2006.

2021 Indiana Drug Recognition Expert awards program recipients

Matthew WilsonFt. Wayne Police DepartmentLongevity Award (5 years)JPG
James BaileyIndiana State PoliceLongevity Award (5 years) 
Dustin ZehnderIndiana State PoliceLongevity Award (5 years)JPG
Kevin CraskHamilton County Sheriff's DepartmentLongevity Award (5 years)JPG
Nathan TompkinsGreenwood Police DepartmentLongevity Award (5 years) 
David BowlesIndianapolis Airport Police DepartmentLongevity Award (5 years) 
Adam MoorIndiana State PoliceLongevity Award (5 years) 
Adam BlantonWayne County Sheriff's DepartmentLongevity Award (5 years) 
Corbin SmithIndiana State Excise PoliceLongevity Award (10 years) 
Ben PhelpsLebanon Police DepartmentLongevity Award (10 years) 
Dustin LundgrenBristol Police DepartmentLongevity Award (10 years)JPG
Richard TrailJasper County Sheriff's DepartmentLongevity Award (10 years) 
Chris RobertsCrane Naval Support Police DepartmentLongevity Award (10 years) 
Matthew KlingAngola Police DepartmentLongevity Award (10 years)JPG
Robert DuckworthIndiana Criminal Justice InstituteLongevity Award (15 years)JPG
Chris SmithIndiana State Excise PoliceLongevity Award (15 years) 
Jason OverfieldRockport Police DepartmentLongevity Award (15 years)JPG
Susan ReidenbachIndianapolis Metropolitan Police DepartmentLongevity Award (25 years)JPG
Joey JonesJ. O. Jones Consulting, LLCDRE Ambassador AwardJPG
Timothy ShorttLaPorte County Sheriff's DepartmentDRE Emeritus AwardJPG
Daniel ShragalIndianapolis Metropolitan Police DepartmentDRE Emeritus AwardJPG
Timothy HuberNewburgh Police DepartmentDRE Evaluation AwardJPG
Michael WittlAvon Police DepartmentLt. Gary Dudley DRE Instructor of the Year Award JPG
Noah EwingIndiana State PoliceOfficer David Moore DRE Officer of the Year Award JPG