The Commission offers a supplement to other state grants by guaranteeing 100% of tuition and regularly assessed fees for students who are children and spouses of certain Indiana public safety officers (PSO) killed in the line of duty or permanently disabled state troopers.
For a child of a PSO killed in the line of duty, the benefit is limited to 8 semesters. If the child first applied and became eligible for the benefit before June 30, 2011, there is no time limit to use the allotted 8 semesters. If the child first applied and became eligible for the benefit after June 30, 2011, the allotted 8 semesters must be used with 8 years after the date the child first applied.
For a child of a permanently disabled state trooper, a spouse of a PSO killed in the line of duty or a spouse of a permanently disabled state trooper, the benefit is limited to 124 credit hours. If the child or spouse first applied and became eligible for the benefit before June 30, 2011, there is no time limit to use the allotted 124 credit hours. If the child or spouse first applied and became eligible for the benefit after June 30, 2011, the allotted 124 credit hours must be used within 8 years after the date the student first applied.
The grant may be used at the undergraduate, graduate, and professional degree level (undergraduate level only for spouses). Tuition and regularly assessed fees for all students will be paid at the undergraduate rate charged by the institution.
Applicant for Public Safety Officer Grant Requirements
- Must be an individual whose father, mother or spouse was a PSO killed in the line of duty
- Must be less than 24 years of age on the date of the PSO’s death (for children)
- Must be enrolled full-time (students) at an Eligible Indiana Institution pursuing an undergraduate degree
Public Safety Officer (parent or spouse of applicant) Requirements
- Must have been a legal resident of Indiana at the time of death;
- Must have been a public employee of the state or an Indiana county, township, city or town; and one of the following:
- a regular, paid law enforcement office (including a police officer, sheriff, correctional officer, excise police officer, conservation enforcement officer, gaming agent, gaming control officer, marshal, deputy marshal, state educational institution police officer, probation officer or member of a consolidated law enforcement department);
- a police reserve officer;
- a regular, paid firefighter;
- a volunteer firefighter (as defined in IC 36-8-12-2);
- a paramedic (as defined in IC 16-18-2-266);
- an emergency medical technician (as defined in IC 16-18-2-112);
- an advance emergency medical technician
Applicant for Permanently Disabled State Trooper Requirements
- Must be an individual whose father, mother or spouse was a PSO killed in the line of duty (for children)**
- Must be less than 23 years of age (for children)
- Must be enrolled full-time (students) at an Eligible Indiana Institution
- Must meet Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) as determined by the institution, and complete a FAFSA annually to maintain eligibility each year
Permanently Disabled State Trooper (parent or spouse of applicant) Requirements
- The state trooper must be an employee beneficiary who has a permanent and total disability from a catastrophic personal injury that was sustained in the line of duty and permanently prevents the trooper from performing any gainful work.
Children must be the biological or legally adopted child of the PSO killed in the line of duty or the permanently disabled state trooper, and spouses must have been married to the covered officer at the time of death. At the time of legal adoption, a child must have been unmarried with no dependents and not a veteran of the armed forces. Adoption by a spouse of the PSO or state trooper is not valid for inclusion of the child in the program.
HOW TO APPLY
- Submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) at FAFSA.gov.
- Submit the Tuition and Fee Exemption - Children or Spouse of Public Safety Officer Application and all necessary documentation online through ScholarTrack.
- Students must create a Student ScholarTrack account at ScholarTrack.IN.gov to complete the application process.
- Once logged into ScholarTrack, click “Apply for State Aid” to access the application.
- Students may also click the following link to directly access the application. You will be prompted to log into ScholarTrack: https://ScholarTrack.che.in.gov/Portal/#/application/314
- Students will be able to view their award status through their Student ScholarTrack account.
Please direct all questions to the Commission at:
ATTN: CVO Fee Remission Program
Indiana Commission for Higher Education
101 West Ohio Street, Suite 300
Indianapolis, IN 46204