Header

  Close Menu

Main Content

COVID-19 Info & Updates to the BMV

fraudulent facebook post

Be Aware of Fraudulent Ads

Fraudulent ads are claiming punishment for driving on Indiana roads during the stay-at-home order. These ads are not accurate and were not created by the Indiana BMV. If you see BMV related information on social media that you have questions about, please check our website for the latest COVID-19 updates.

Executive Order and Operational Changes

Governor Eric J. Holcomb announced that beginning Tuesday, March 24 all state government offices will be closed to in-person public activity. This closure includes all Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) branches.

Link to Governor Holcomb's Address

Through Executive Order, Governor Holcomb waived Administrative Penalty Fees (late fees) and has further ordered an extension of expiration dates on all state-issued licenses and registrations. Governor Holcomb also stated he will advise law enforcement to refrain from issuing citations for a driver’s license or registration that expires during this emergency. 

The following changes will be effective March 19, 2020 and remain in place for the next 60 days:


Self-Service Options

Complete Your Transactions Online

touch screen iconWe offer a convenient way to complete your transactions outside of our branches by connecting to myBMV.com. The website is down every Sunday from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. for routine maintenance and will not be available. 

If you have any questions or concerns, please call our Customer Contact Center at 888-692-6841.

Don't forget, if you received your registration renewal by mail you can complete and return your registration by mail.

Available Transactions

Here is a quick summary of the majority of transactions you can complete on each medium.

  myBMV.com BMV Connect Kiosk
New vehicle registration*
Vehicle registration renewal
Watercraft registration renewal
Replacement sticker Can only order online
Duplicate registration card
Driver's license renewal
Duplicate driver's license
Renew ID card
Replacement ID card
Replacement CDL
Replacement learner's permit
Update your email on file
Update your mailing address on file
Update your insurance info  
Official driver records
Pay a reinstatement fee
Duplicate a title

*For new registrations, the vehicle must have been purchased in the last 60 days and the title submitted to the BMV.

FAQs for Customers

In accordance with Governor Eric J. Holcomb’s statewide address and Executive Order 20-09 beginning Tuesday, March 24, all BMV branches will be closed to in-person public activity to reduce the spread of COVID-19 and protect all Hoosiers. Below are frequently asked questions regarding how this change affects customers and the transactions they make with the BMV.

Executive Orders


Extending Driver's License & State ID Expiration

Knowledge & Skills Exams

Registrations

Fees

Titles

Full & Partial Service Providers

Branch Visits

  • Is the BMV enforcing the requirement for in-person visit for every other license renewal?

    Yes, that is a requirement under federal, state laws and regulations. The BMV has waived administrative penalty fees (late fees) for several transactions for 60 days. The following administrative penalty fees will be waived:

    • $6 for late driver’s license or identification card renewals
    • $15 for late vehicle registration renewals
    • $30 for late title transactions
    • $15 for late ORV and snowmobile registration renewals
    • $10 for late salvage titles

Military Customers

RSI

Driver's License or State ID Mailing

FAQ for CDLs and MCS

All BMV branches remain closed to in-person general public activity to reduce the spread of COVID-19 and protect all Hoosiers. Special operations begin Monday, April 6 for CLP and CDL transactions. You can click through for more below as well as read frequently asked questions for Commercial Driver's Licenses and Motor Carrier Services.


COVID-19 Updates for CDLs

Attention CDL Drivers! A few select branches will be open by APPOINTMENT ONLY to obtain new CDLs, new Commercial Learner's Permits, and upgrade/downgrade for the CDL to add the tank vehicle or hazardous materials endorsement. Find info on how to make an appointment, as well as an list of CDL vendors that are currently closed.

Learn More

FAQs for New CLP/CDL Transactions in Branches

General FAQs for Commercial Driver's Licenses

FAQs related to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

News and FAQs

Top FAQs