Header

Main Content

Article

Tobacco Information

Announcements and Links

Notice - Retailers of electronic cigarettes and e-liquid products. You can access information for electronic cigarettes and e-liquids by using the E-Liquid link found on the left side of this page.

Tobacco Links         

Indiana's Smoke Free Air Law

The Alcohol and Tobacco Commission has prepared a Frequently Asked Questions document to assist the general public and business owners in better understanding Indiana's smoking ban law, which went into effect July 1, 2012. If your questions about the smoking ban are not answered in our Frequently Asked Questions document, please forward them to us via our ATC Contact Page

Indiana's Tobacco 21

Indiana’s Tobacco 21 law goes into effect on Wednesday, July 1, 2020. This new law encompasses all tobacco products including non-combustible tobacco products, and e-cigarette devices and e-liquid. Below you will find an overview to the changes in law and Senate Enrolled Act 1. Updated signage to reflect the changes in law can be found under the Tobacco Retailer and Smoke Free Air Law Signs section of this website. 

Tobacco 21 Overview

  • Minimum legal sale age increased from 18 to 21
  • Includes cigarettes, non-combustible tobacco products including refillable e-liquid, other combustible tobacco products
  • Requires updated signage for tobacco vending machines, etc.
  • Age of requesting photo identification increased from appearance of 27 to 30
  • Tobacco and vaping shops cannot be located within 1000 ft. of public schools (increased from 200 ft.)
  • Clubs and fraternal clubs with designated smoking rooms must prohibit individuals under the age of 21 from entering their smoking room
  • Tobacco shops must prohibit anyone under the age of 21 from entering, including employees
  • Forbids sale of products containing Vitamin E Acetate
  • Increased criminal penalties
    • Class C Infraction for underage possession, use, or purchase
    • Retail penalties based on previous 1 year:
      • 0 previous citations: $400
      • 1 previous citation: $800
      • 2 previous citations: $1400
      • 3 or more citations: $2000
      • Class B Misdemeanor for 6 or more retail citations in 1 year.
  • Senate Enrolled Act 1, Tobacco and Vaping Smoking Age

Tobacco Retailer and Smoke Free Air Law Signs

By clicking the links below, you can print statutorily compliant signs for your tobacco retail business and the required Smoke Free Air Law signs for public places and places of employment. 

Retailer Tobacco 21 Law: (Effective July 1, 2020)

Smoke Free Signage Requirements: (Effective July 1, 2012)

Additional free signs are available from the Indiana State Department of Health's Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Commission at http://www.breatheindiana.com/