Language Translation
  Close Menu

Indiana Main Street Council

In October 2023,  Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch announced nine appointments to the Indiana Main Street Council. Members of the council are appointed to serve based on their successful track record in community development and experience supporting the Indiana Main Street program and Indiana’s downtowns. Support for the Indiana Main Street program comes through various activities, such as developing and directing policy, coordinating administrative tasks and providing assistance to carry out the program's goals.

The Indiana Main Street Council serves as a key entity in encouraging the economic development, redevelopment and improvement of historic commercial districts in Indiana’s cities and towns. In the past, the IMS Council has played a leading role in hosting the 2001 National Main Street Conference in Indianapolis, determining grant programs and awards, as well as implementing the Main Street “levels system” for communities around the state.

Additionally, the IMS Council serves as a resource and advisory group to OCRA as it strives to fulfill the program's objectives. In 2024, the Indiana Main Street program will be going through a strategic planning process over the course of nine months with Main Street America. The IMS Council will play a central role in setting future goals and objectives for the program. Indiana Main Street encourages the revitalization and restoration of downtown areas throughout the state and provides a variety of services like technical assistance and educational opportunities.

Newly appointed IMS Council member for the 2023-2026 term include:

  • Andrew Carty, vice president of Small Business for the Indiana Economic Development Corporation.
  • Marsh Davis, president of Indiana Landmarks.
  • J. P. Hall III, associate professor in the College of Architecture and Planning at Ball State University.
  • Meagan Heber, placemaking and environmental review manager at the Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority.
  • Eva North, president of Main Street Corydon Executive Board.
  • Brian Sheehan, business development manager at HWC Engineering.
  • Dean Vonderheide, mayor of Jasper
  • Amy Haacker, vice president of Community Foundation Programs at IPA.
  • Keith Gillenwater, president and CEO of Grow Wabash County.

The IMS Council includes individuals who represent organizations involved in the Indiana Main Street program and the chair, Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch. Members appointed to the IMS Council will serve for a term of three years, starting on July 1, 2023, following their appointment.

A schedule of council meetings are available by contacting Indiana Main Street Coordinator Andrea Kern at All IMS Council meetings are open to the public.

Past Meetings