Language Translation
  Close Menu

Board Members

Health Department meetings are held in the Wayne County Commissioner Chamber in the Wayne County Administration Building, located at 401 East Main St Richmond, IN 47374. These meetings are open to the public and are conducted at 12 p.m. on the third  Tuesday of the month.

Wayne County Health Board Members

Dr. Paul Rider - President

Dr. Paul Rider, M.D.

Dr. Paul Rider is a board-certified pediatrician who was born in Anderson, Indiana and raised in Huntington, Indiana. He received his bachelor’s degree from Hanover College and MD from Indiana University School of Medicine. Paul completed his pediatric training at James Whitcomb Riley Hospital for Children joined the medical staff of Reid Hospital and started practicing pediatrics at the Pediatric Center of Richmond in 1974. While at Reid at various times he served as Chief of Pediatrics, medical staff officer and then Chief of the medical staff, member of the Reid Hospital Board and later Board officer and most recently as Director of Medical Education. Dr. Rider retired from Reid in October 2021. He has served on various community committees including the Wayne County Child Protection Team and currently serves as Coordinator. Dr. Rider was appointed to the Wayne County Board of Health in 1991 and is currently President of the Board. Dr. Rider is married to Shanron Rider, and they have two grown children, Steven, and Ashley, and four grandsons. Dr. Rider and Shanron are members of Central United Methodist Church.

Jeff Butler

Jeff Butler, M.A.

Jeff Butler retired in March of 2014 with 42 years of service to the State of Indiana. Jeff’s roles included over 20 years of direct clinical services to all population groups. He served as the Clinical Director for 8 years, and from 2000 to 2014 served as the Superintendent of the Richmond State Hospital. Jeff graduated from Indiana State University in 1972 and received his M.A in Health Science from Ball State University in 1986. Jeff has served on the Wayne County Health Board since 2014.

Dr. Curtis Wright

Dr. Curtis Wright, M.S.

Dr. Curtis Wright was the director of facilities and security at M.S.D. of Pike Township in Indianapolis and has been involved in school administration for 10 years. Dr. Wright is the Superintendent of Richmond Community Schools. Wright graduated from Richmond High School in 1997 and then earned an undergraduate degree from Earlham College, a master’s degree in educational leadership from Indiana University, and later a doctorate degree in educational leadership from Oakland City University.

Mark Broeker 

Information Coming Soon

Sabrina Pennington

Sabrina Pennington

Sabrina Pennington a board member since 2019, currently serves as the Vice Chancellor for Enrollment/Student Success at the Richmond campus. She previously served as Director of the Student Support Services program at Indiana University East.  She holds a Master’s degree in Adult Education. At Ivy Tech and at IU East, Ms. Pennington has been a leader in supporting student success-particularly among minority student populations.

Jim  Swonder,  M.D.

Information Coming Soon

Amanda Mullins, LCSW

Amanda Mullins is a Clinical Social Worker Specialist in Richmond, Indiana.  She graduated with honors in 2003. Amanda has more than 20 years of diverse experiences, especially in Clinical Social Work. Amanda is a Manager of Adult Services at Centerstone.