Language Translation
  Close Menu

Indiana State Government Documents Depository Library Program

Depository Libraries in Indiana

Indiana state documents are distributed to the following libraries on a regular basis.

Bloomington: Herman B Wells Library, Indiana University
Columbus: Bartholomew County Public Library
Evansville: Evansville-Vanderburgh County Public Library
Fort Wayne: Allen County Public Library
Kokomo: Indiana University Kokomo Library
Muncie: Alexander M. Bracken Library, Ball State University
New Albany: New Albany-Floyd County Public Library
Richmond: Morrison-Reeves Public Library
South Bend: St. Joseph County Public Library
Terre Haute: Cunningham Memorial Library, Indiana State University
Valparaiso: Christopher Center Library Services, Valparaiso University
West Lafayette: Humanities, Social Sciences and Education Library, Purdue University

State Documents Disposal List (for State Depository Libraries’ Use)

Checklist of State Documents

The Indiana Division compiles the quarterly and cumulative Checklist of Indiana State Documents.

To obtain your own copies of current State Documents, contact the agency that published them. The State Library generally cannot provide copies for patrons to keep, but it may be able to lend copies, depending on its collection usage guidelines. Many state agencies, boards, and commissions now publish their documents online. Additionally, some documents have been digitized, with links provided in the Guide to Locating Indiana Government Documents.

State Documents do not include records such as files, memos, manuals, or correspondence, which are unpublished and created for internal agency use. Contact the Indiana State Archives to inquire about the records of various state agencies.  

Patrons or State Agencies with questions about the Checklist, the Documents Depository Act of 1973 (
IC 4-23-7.1-25 et seq.) or about sending publications to the State Library should contact the State Documents Coordinator at 317-232-3670 or by email,  

IND AG 1/30/2024