Language Translation
  Close Menu

Owen County

Owen County was created in 1819 from Daviess and Sullivan Counties.  It is located in west central Indiana.  The county seat is Spencer.

Selected Holdings at the Indiana State Library

The following list is not complete.  Further resources may be found by searching the Indiana State Library online catalog.

Print Materials from the Genealogy Division

Land Records

Land Entry Book 1
ISLG 977.201 O97zo

Marriage Records

Index to Marriage Records, 1819-1920
ISLG 977.201 O97c

Marriages, 1819-1853
ISLG 977.201 O97f v. 1-2

WPA Index to Marriage Records, 1850-1920
ISLG 977.201 O97u v. 3-4

WPA Index to Supplemental Marriage Transcripts, 1880-1920
ISLG 977.201 O97u v. 5

Vital Records

Index to Birth and Death Records, 1882-1920
ISLG 977.201 O97io

WPA Index to Birth Records, 1882-1920
ISLG 977.201 O97u v. 1

WPA Index to Death Records, 1882-1920
ISLG 977.201 O97u v. 2

Wills and Probates

Abstracts of Wills before 1900
ISLG 977.201 O97a

Index to the Will Books and Intestate Records, 1819-1871
ISLG 977.201 O97pe

Index to Wills, 1833-1966
ISLG 977.201 O97i

Will and Probate Book, 1819-1833
ISLG 977.201 O97p

Will Records, Book 1, 1833-1852
ISLG 977.201 O97w

Other Library Materials

Online Resources

Marriage Records


Vital Records

Wills and Probates

Locating Original Records

For Further Research

GEN JD 2-23-2021