Language Translation
  Close Menu

Fountain County

Fountain County was created in 1826 from Montgomery and Parke Counties.  It is located in western Indiana.  The county seat is Covington.

Selected Holdings at the Indiana State Library

The following list is not complete.  Further resources may be found by searching the Indiana State Library online catalog.

Print Materials from the Genealogy Division

Court Records

Fountain County Court Records—Book I
ISLG 977.201 F771Lu Bk. 1

Marriage Records

Fountain County Marriage Records, 1826-1848 and Letters of Administration, 1832-1846
ISLG 977.201 F771Lm v. 1-2

Fountain County Marriages, 1826-1840
ISLG 977.201 F771rim

Fountain County Marriages, 1826-1848
ISLG 977.201 F771d v. 2

Fountain County Marriages, 1848-1850
ISLG 977.201 F771fo

WPA Index to Marriage Records, 1848-194
ISLG 977.201 F771u v. 4-6, 10

WPA Index to Supplemental Marriage Transcripts, 1880-1905
ISLG 977.201 F771u v. 7

Vital Records

WPA Index to Birth Records, 1887-1941
ISLG 977.201 F771u v. 1-2, 9

WPA Index to Death Records, 1882-1920
ISLG 977.201 F771u v. 3

Wills and Probates

Fountain County Will Abstracts Book I, 1827-1851 and Original Land Records
ISLG 977.201 F771L

Other Library Materials

Online Resources

Marriage Records


Vital Records

Locating Original Records

For Further Research

GEN SF 4-24-2023