Language Translation
  Close Menu

DeKalb County

DeKalb County was created in 1835 from Allen and LaGrange Counties.  It is located on the Ohio border in northeast Indiana.  The county seat is Auburn.

The courthouse experienced a fire in 1913 which resulted in the loss of some records.

Selected Holdings at the Indiana State Library

The following list is not complete.  Further resources may be found by searching the Indiana State Library online catalog.

Print Materials from the Genealogy Division

Marriage Reocrds

Early Marriage Records of DeKalb County, 1837-1882
ISLG 977.201 D328he

WPA Index to Marriage Records, 1882-1920
ISLG 977.201 D328u v. 3

Vital Records

Birth Records of DeKalb County, 1921-1944
ISLG 977.201 D328h v. 1-2

Birth Records of DeKalb County, 1945-1965
ISLG 977.201 D328hb v. 1-2

Death Records of DeKalb County, 1899-1920
ISLG 977.201 D328har

Index to Birth Records, DeKalb County, 1966-1980
ISLG 977.201 D328Le v. 1-2

Index to Death Records, DeKalb County, 1920-1965
ISLG 977.201 D328k v. 1-2

WPA Index to Birth Records, 1882-1920
ISLG 977.201 D328u v. 1

WPA Index to Death Records, 1882-1920
ISLG 977.201 D328u v. 2

Other Library Materials

Online Resources

Cemeteries and Obituaries

Court Records


Marriage Records 


Wills and Probates

Locating Original Records

For Further Research

GEN SF 1-29-2024