Language Translation
  Close Menu

Fees

The Indiana Statute specifies a minimum permit application fee and annual operating fee for solid and hazardous waste facilities. The Environmental Rules Board may adopt additional fee according to Indiana Code 13-16.

Annual Operation Fees

Permitted and registered solid and hazardous waste facilities and hazardous waste generators owe annual operation fees. Solid waste and waste tire invoices are mailed out by January 15 every year based on the permit/registration status on January 1. Hazardous waste invoices are generated on June 15 based on reports due March 1. Fees are due within 30 days of mailing, with a 10 percent late fee if they are still unpaid more than 30 days after the due date. Installment plans are available upon written request.

Solid Waste

  • Municipal Solid Waste Landfill (MSWLF) or Nonmunicipal Solid Waste Landfill (Non-MSWLF >500 tons per day (TPD) = $45,000
  • MSWLF or Non-MSWLF 250-499 TPD = $25,900
  • MSWLF or Non-MSWLF 100-249 TPD = $12,070
  • MSWLF or Non-MSWLF <100 TPD = $3,450
  • Construction/Demolition Site = $2,590
  • Restricted Waste Site 1 = $41,250
  • Restricted Waste Site 2 = $35,000
  • Restricted Waste Site 3 = $15,000
  • Groundwater Compliance Sampling (for land disposal facilities) = $450 per well
  • Transfer Station = $3,500
  • Processing Facility = $3,500
  • Incinerator
    • Greater than 500 TPD = $40,000
    • 250-499 TPD = $15,000
    • 100-249 TPD = $7,000
    • Less than 100 TPD = $2,000
  • Infectious Waste Incinerator >7 TPD = $5,000
  • Waste Tire Storage Facility = $860
  • Waste Tire Transporter = $100

Hazardous Waste (HW)

  • HW Landfill = $50,000
  • HW Incinerator = $17,245 per unit
  • HW Storage = $4,300
  • HW Treatment (including boilers and industrial furnaces) = $17,245
  • HW Large Quantity Generator = $2,500
  • HW Post Closure Activity = $1,500
  • Groundwater Compliance Sampling (for active HW landfills) = $2,100 per well

Disposal Fees

Solid waste disposal facilities, like landfills and incinerators, owe fees based on the amount of waste they dispose. They are $0.60 per ton for MSWLFs and non-MSWLFs, $0.55 per ton for incinerators, and $0.50 per ton for restricted waste sites Type I, II, or III. These fees are due by the 15th of the month following each calendar quarter. Hazardous waste disposal facilities, like landfills and underground injection sites, owe a higher fee of $11.50 per ton, which is due by March 1 each year. However, the maximum amount owed for disposal by underground injection is $25,000. All disposal fees incur a 10 percent late charge if not paid on time.

The following forms are available on the on IDEM Agency Forms page:

  • Solid Waste Quarterly Fee (State Form 56723)
  • Hazardous Waste Disposal Fee (State Form 46244)

New Application, Modification, and Renewal Fees

Solid and hazardous waste facilities and waste tire operations owe application fees when they first apply for a permit or registration, and then for any permit modification and renewal of the permit. This fee must be paid along with the application. The application is not considered as received until the fee is received. The application fee is based on the type of permit. There are no application fees for solid waste registrations, such as compost facility and biomass facility.

Solid Waste Application

New Permit Application or Major Permit Modification Application
  • Municipal Solid Waste Landfill = $53,975
  • Non-Municipal Solid Waste Landfill = $53,975
  • Construction/Demolition Site = $20,000
  • Restricted Waste Site 1 = $31,000
  • Restricted Waste Site 2 = $31,000
  • Restricted Waste Site 3 = $20,000
  • Processing Facility (other) = $12,150
  • Transfer Station = $12,150
  • Incinerator = $28,650
  • Waste Tire Transporter = $25
  • Waste Tire Processing Operation = $200
  • Waste Tire Storage Site = $500

All minor permit modifications, except waste tire operations = $4,300

Renewal
  • Municipal Solid Waste Landfill = $26,500
  • Non-Municipal Solid Waste Landfill = $26,500
  • Construction/Demolition Site = $12,330
  • Restricted Waste Site 1 = $26,500
  • Restricted Waste Site 2 = $26,500
  • Restricted Waste Site 3 = $12,330
  • Processing Facility (other) = $3,795
  • Transfer Station = $3,795
  • Incinerator = $10,175
  • Waste Tire Transporter = $0
  • Waste Tire Processing Operation = $200
  • Waste Tire Storage Site = $0

Hazardous Waste Application

New Application
  • Hazardous Waste Land Disposal Facility = $40,600
  • Hazardous Waste Storage Facility = $23,800
  • Hazardous Waste Treatment Facility = $23,800
  • Hazardous Waste Incinerator (per unit) = $21,700
Renewal or Class 3 Modification
  • Hazardous Waste Land Disposal Facility = $58,600
  • Hazardous Waste Storage Facility = $29,660
  • Hazardous Waste Treatment Facility = $29,660
  • Hazardous Waste Incinerator = $37,400

All Class 2 Modifications = $2,250

More information is available in the Indiana Code 13-20-21 and 13-22-12.