Adult Protective Services
The Adult Protective Services program was established to receive and investigate reports regarding adults within the state of Indiana who may be endangered and, as appropriate, to coordinate a proper response to protect endangered adults who are victims of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.
APS field investigators operate out of the offices of county prosecutors throughout the state. If the APS unit has reason to believe that an individual who is 18 years or older is an endangered adult, the unit shall investigate the complaint or cause the complaint to be investigated by law enforcement or other agency and make a determination as to whether the individual reported is an endangered adult.
How to file a report
Indiana is a mandatory report state, meaning everyone is required by law to report cases of suspected neglect, battery or exploitation of an endangered adult to an APS unit or law enforcement. All reports are secured and kept confidential.
Please note that APS is not an emergency responder, if you believe someone is in immediate danger, call 911 immediately.
Individuals may file a report online or by calling the state hotline or calling an APS field office.
- Online reporting click here
- State hotline: 800-992-6978
- Directions to nearest Adult Protective Services office (type in Adult Protective Services in search field)
- Adult Protective Services area map
- Abuse, neglect and exploitation infographic
After a report is submitted
After a report is submitted it is sent to the director of the local APS unit, who will determine the appropriate next step. APS will keep your report confidential and will not disclose your name without a court order or the consent of all parties named in the report. If APS conducts an investigation, an investigator may contact you for additional information; however, APS does not discuss ongoing investigations and will not provide you with information regarding the details or the status of the investigation.
Please understand that when adults have the capacity to make their own decisions, they may refuse services and have the right to do so. APS has no authority to force a fully cognizant adult to do anything against their will.
Who is an endangered adult?
There are three aspects to being an endangered adult in Indiana. Indiana considers an endangered adult to be:
- An individual who is at least 18 years of age
- Incapable by reason of mental illness, intellectual disability, dementia, habitual drunkenness, excessive drug use, or other physical or mental incapacity, of managing or directing the management of the individual’s property or providing self-care; and
- Harmed or threatened with harm as a result of:
- Battery; or
- Exploitation of the individual’s personal services or property.
What are the definitions of abuse, neglect or exploitation in Indiana?
- A person who knowingly or intentionally:
- Touches another person in a rude, insolent or angry manner; or
- In a rude, insolent or angry manner places any bodily fluid or waste on another person.
- The endangered adult or the person who takes care of the endangered adult is unable to, or fails to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter or medical care.
- Exploitation of the individual’s personal services or property: A person who recklessly, knowingly or intentionally exerts unauthorized use of the personal services or the property of:
- An endangered adult; or
- A dependent 18 years of age or older;
- For the person’s own profit or advantage or for the profit of advantage of another person.
- Includes, but is not limited to sexual misuse as well as the use of the endangered adult’s labor without pay or exerting unauthorized control over the finances or property of the endangered adult.