Indiana’s new youth-employment law is now fully in effect. Effective July 1, Indiana has eliminated work permits* completely, and now requires all employers with five or more minor employees (under age 18) to begin using the Indiana Department of Labor’s Youth Employment System (YES) to track and report minor-employee information.
YES has been available since June 1, and thousands of employers have already set up their accounts and collectively registered tens of thousands of minor employees. Employers who fail to comply with the new law that goes could face penalties of up to $400 per infraction, per minor employee.
YES is simple and easy to use. Employers can access the app via their smart device, such as your smartphone or tablet, as well as their desktop or laptop. Once they’ve set up their employer profile, they can enter your minor data – name, age and hire date – within minutes.
The new system will not impact the state’s work-hour requirement for minors, and all employers must still comply with the Teens Work Hour restrictions and Prohibited and Hazardous Occupation restrictions for minors.
*Indiana employers must keep all work permits issued prior to July 1, 2021 for two years.
To see a video tutorial of the YES registration process click here.
For a video tutorial on how to access the YES Knowledgebase (FAQs) click here.
Youth Employment System (YES) FAQs
Does this mean that work permits are going away in Indiana?
Yes, Indiana Code 22-2-18.1-26 sets new requirements that no longer require employers to secure a work permit from a minor employee through their school. However, any Indiana employer who employs five or more minor employees must register themselves as a youth employer, and provide information about their minor employees. This new requirement goes into effect July 1, 2021, and penalties will be assessed for noncompliance at that time.
What is YES?
YES stands for the Youth Employment System, provided by the Indiana Department of Labor. YES is a new minor-employee registration system mandated by Indiana Code 22-2-18.1-26.
Who can use YES?
All Indiana employers who employ five or more minor employees MUST register in YES. This requirement will become effective July 1, 2021.
What type of information must employers register in YES?
Employers will be required to provide corporate and individual location information, and minor employee information once the minor is employed. Upon termination of the minor, that employer must remove the minor from YES.
What if our organization employs less than five minors?
Employers who employ four or fewer minor employees are not required to use the new system.
Is there a penalty for not using YES?
After the effective date of July 1, 2021, the Indiana Department of Labor’s Youth Employment Division will assess penalties for employer noncompliance, per Indiana Code 22-2-18.1-26. YES will go live in early June 2021, and employers who employ five or more minor employees are strongly encouraged to sign up and become familiar with YES before the new requirement goes into effect on July 1.
What is the penalty for noncompliance?
Penalties can be assessed for failure to use YES to register minors, failure to remove a minor from the system once employment ends or failure to correct the number of minors employed in YES. Penalties range from $100 to $400, depending on the noncompliance infraction.
Does this new requirement eliminate the work-hour requirements?
No. The new system and registration requirement will not impact the state’s work-hour requirement for minors, and all employers must still comply with the Teens Work Hour restrictions.
Do minor employees need any documentation from their school, to share with their employer?
No. Schools will no longer be responsible for tracking and registering minor employees in Indiana. That responsibility will become the legal obligation of the employer.
When can employers begin using the new system?
YES will go live in early June 2021. Employers who employ five or more minor employees are strongly encouraged to sign up and become familiar with YES before the new requirement goes into effect (July 1, 2021). For updates, visit to the Youth Employment section of the DOL website.
Who can my organization speak to about a presentation or information session about YES and the new requirement?
We welcome the opportunity to speak with organizations, associations, chambers of commerce, etc. about YES. To discuss a presentation or information session, please contact: YouthEmployment@dol.IN.gov.