Language Translation
  Close Menu

2015 Drive Now TXT L8R Winners

Home - Registration - Resources - Rules - FAQs - Contact
★ ★ ★ 2016 WINNERS NOW AVAILABLE! ★ ★ ★

Congratulations to Our 2015 Winners!

Our 2015 Drive Now TXT L8R scholarship winners with Lt. Gov. Sue Ellspermann

During Distracted Driving Awareness Month in April, nearly 200 students posted thousands of tweets and dozens of photos or videos using Instagram and Vine. Staff from the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Indiana Criminal Justice Institute, Indiana Department of Labor, Indiana Department of Transportation and Indiana State Police tracked the posts and judged the most creative entries.

We had excellent results again this year! The safe driving messaging from our 30 Drive Now TXT L8R winners was viewed nearly 30,000 times on Twitter, Vine and Instagram during the month of April! Winners received $5,000 prizes into their CollegeChoice529 savings plans to help them during their post-secondary education. Their creative work has reminded not just Hoosiers, but drivers across the country that it's critical they drive now and text later.

Our 30 winners were all invited to the Indiana State House to meet with Lieutenant Governor Sue Ellspermann for an awards ceremony celebrating their achievements.


1. Most Tweets, Retweets and Favorites on Twitter, College Division

  • Melanie Shebel from Purdue University North Central - Entry

2. Most Creative on Instagram, College Division

  • Elizabeth Atha from Indiana State University - Entry

3. Most Likes on Instagram, College Division

  • Princess Mae Visconde from Saint Mary's College

4. Most Creative on Vine, College Division

  • Ronald Carter from Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis and Emily Morris from University of Indianapolis - Entry

5. Most Likes on Vine, College Division

  • Kareem El-Khodary & Omar El-Khodary from University of Evansville - Entry


6. Most Tweets, Retweets and Favorites on Twitter, High School Division

  • Alexander Eib, Derek Johnston & Nathaniel Spangle from Triton Junior-Senior High School - Entry

7. Most Creative on Instagram, High School Division

  • Alyssa Begley from North Miami Middle/High School - Entry
  • Luke Bilotta, Adrianna Waldron & Alex Waldron from Penn High School - Entry
  • Elizabeth Gillenwater, Alex Roberts & Kaitlin Wunsch from Jeffersonville High School - Entry
  • Jordan Hersey, Trace Hewson & Katie Oswalt from Huntington North High School - Entry
  • Landon Hunt from Northridge High School - Entry

8. Most Likes on Instagram, High School Division

  • Monica Blankenship, Joshua Hoeft & Justice Lawson from Penn High School - Entry

9. Most Creative on Vine, High School Division

  • Dominic Rossi from Zionsville Community High School - Entry

10. Most Likes on Vine, High School Division

  • Emily Osowski & Mailee Peeples from LaPorte High School and Leanna Smith from New Prairie High School - Entry

Previous Winners