Language Translation
  Close Menu

2014 Drive Now TXT L8R Winners

Home - Registration - Resources - Rules - FAQs - Contact
★ ★ ★ 2016 WINNERS NOW AVAILABLE! ★ ★ ★

Congratulations to Our 2014 Winners!

Our 2014 Drive Now TXT L8R scholarship winners with Lt. Gov. Sue Ellspermann

During Distracted Driving Awareness Month in April, nearly 200 students posted more than 7,000 tweets and almost 50 photos or videos using Instagram or Vine. Staff from the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Indiana Criminal Justice Institute, Indiana Department of Labor, Indiana Department of Transportation and Indiana State Police tracked the posts and judged the most creative entries.

We had excellent results for the first year of the Drive Now TXT L8R Campaign. The safe driving messaging from our 17 Drive Now TXT L8R winners was viewed over 10,000 times on Twitter, Vine and Instagram during the month of April! Winners received $5,000 prizes into their CollegeChoice529 savings plans to help them during their post-secondary education. Their creative work has reminded not just Hoosiers, but drivers across the country that it's critical they drive now and text later.

Our 17 winners were all invited to the Indiana State House to meet with Lieutenant Governor Sue Ellspermann for an awards ceremony celebrating their achievements.


1. Most Tweets, Retweets and Favorites on Twitter, College Division

  • Melanie Shebel from Purdue University North Central

2. Most Creative on Instagram, College Division

  • Emily Morris from University of Indianapolis - Entry

3. Most Likes on Instagram, College Division

  • Shakeya Caines from Ball State University - Entry

4. Most Creative on Vine, College Division

  • Austin Hoffman & Logan Schroering from University of Southern Indiana - Entry

5. Most Likes on Vine, College Division

  • Abdiel Garcia & Abner Garcia from Ivy Tech Community College - Entry


6. Most Tweets, Retweets and Favorites on Twitter, High School Division

  • Hannah Kline & Marcos Navarro from Warsaw Community High School

7. Most Creative on Instagram, High School Division

  • Skyler Blanton, Madi Rogers & Allie Bertram from Jennings County High School - Entry

8. Most Likes on Instagram, High School Division

  • Laura Brown, Leah Hoff & Hunter Crispen from Rochester High School - Entry

9. Most Creative on Vine, High School Division

  • Erica Brown from Pike High School - Entry

10. Most Likes on Vine, High School Division

  • Omar El-Khodary from Signature School - Entry

Previous Winners