Language Translation
  Close Menu


Q: What is the Governor’s Workplace Safety Award (GWSA)?
A: The annual Governor's Workplace Safety Awards (GWSA) are a result of a partnership among the Indiana Department of Labor, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce and the Central Indiana Chapter of the American Society of Safety Engineers. The annually-awarded award provides recognition for companies based on best practices for eliminating workplace injuries and illnesses. The award salutes those organizations for which safety and health have been made a top priority.

Q: Who can apply for a GWSA?
A: The Governor's Workplace Safety Awards are open to all organizations, regardless of size or number of workers affected. All Hoosier businesses, unions, municipalities, schools, service organizations, nonprofit organizations or individuals are eligible to apply for the awards.

Q: What are the GWSA categories?
A: For both construction and general industry, the awards categories include the following: Innovation, Partnerships, Outreach and Education – Internal, Outreach and Education – External, Rising Star, and Everyday Safety Hero. Learn more about the award categories on the Award Categories page.

Q: How are winners selected?
A: The GWSA is a competitive award. If your organization is interested in being recognized, you must submit an application addressing all appropriate questions. Applications will be evaluated by both; members of the American Society of Safety Engineers and members of the Indiana Department of Labor’s INSafe consultation division.

Q: Is a winner in each category guaranteed?
A: The GWSA is a competitive award. It is possible in a given category that no GWSA will be awarded. It is possible that no award will be granted in a particular category. However, it is possible that more than one award may be given in any category if there are multiple exceptional examples of workplace health and safety success.

Q: What will winners receive?
A: Winners will be publicly recognized with a plaque during the GWSA Luncheon. The GWSA luncheon is held annually during the Indiana Safety and Health Conference and Expo. Winners may also be recognized by conference partners in news releases, social media messages, newsletters and other media throughout the year.

Q: I have an open OSHA investigation, can I apply?
A: To qualify, a company must be deemed to be free of compliance disputes concerning all applicable local, state and federal statutes and regulations. Organizations with outstanding OSHA fines will not be eligible for a GWSA.

Q: When do I find out if I/my organization won?
A: You will be contacted by representatives of the Indiana Department of Labor and the Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards are then officially presented every year during the Indiana Safety and Health Conference and Expo.

Q: My company had issues in the past, but now is working towards excellence. Are there opportunities for companies that are like mine?
A: The Indiana Safety and Health Conference Committee recently added the “Rising Star” category. This category and recognition is reserved for an organization that has had some safety issues in the past – DART and TRC rates over the industry’s average for instance – but can demonstrate a steady improvement and dedication to workplace safety and health through; decreasing rates, increased commitment to safety and health programs, new health and safety programs etc.

Q: Where can I apply for a GWSA?
A: The GWSA application is made available in the Fall prior to the annual awards in the form of a fillable document.

Q: When can I apply for a GWSA?
A: The GWSA application period generally opens in November of the preceding year. However please note, your organization’s most current workplace injury and illness rates (e.g. 2011-2016) are required for the 2017 GWSA application.

Q: How do I fill out the application?
A: All applicants must provide responses to the first 10 questions of the application. Then, your organization only needs to answer the questions in the award category for which you are seeking recognition.

Q: Where can I find more information and previous winners?
A: You can find information and photos from the previous GWSA recipients as well as more information about the award on the Past Recipients page.