Language Translation
  Close Menu

About Us

The Department of Local Government Finance is responsible for ensuring property tax assessment and local government budgeting are carried out in accordance with Indiana law. The Department is charged with publishing property tax assessment rules and annually reviewing and approving the tax rates and levies of every political subdivision in the state, including all counties, cities, towns, townships, school corporations, libraries, and other entities with tax levy authority.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department is to ensure a fair and equitable property tax system for Indiana taxpayers.

Core Values

1. Put taxpayers first.

2. Respect local control.

3. Excellence in all that we do.

Executive Staff

Meet the leadership team from the Department of Local Government Finance.


Daniel Shackle


Barry Wood
Assessment Director


Scott Maitland
Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff


Jenny Banks
Communications Director


Emily Crisler
General Counsel


Josh Jacoboski
Information Systems & Data Analysis Director