Language Translation
  Close Menu

Judges of the Court of Appeals

Court of Appeals judges

The Court of Appeals has 15 judges, each drawn from one of five Appeals Court districts. The members of the Court choose a Chief Judge, who serves a three-year term.

All are nominated by the Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission, with final selection by the governor. Each faces a non-partisan retention vote in their district in the first general election following their seating on the Court and every ten years thereafter. For more information see Selection and Tenure and Indiana's Judicial Retention System.

The three judges in each district select a presiding judge for that district for a term of one year.

The Court hears appeals only in three-judge panels, which change three times a year. All members of the Court have statewide jurisdiction. Cases are randomly assigned. In cases where there is oral argument, the senior-most judge on each three-judge panel is the presiding judge during oral argument.

Learn more about Indiana's Court of Appeals Districts

Frequently Asked Questions About Court of Appeals Judges

Historical Listing of Court of Appeals Judges

Current Judges

Click on a judge's name for a biography

First District
Judge Peter R. Foley, Presiding Judge October 11, 2022 - 
Judge L. Mark Bailey January 30, 1998 -
Judge Leanna K. Weissmann September 14, 2020 -
Second District
Judge Robert R. Altice, Jr., Chief Judge  September 2, 2015 -  
Judge Cale J. Bradford August 1, 2007 -
Judge Dana Kenworthy January 16, 2023 -
Third District
Judge Elizabeth F. TavitasPresiding Judge  August 6, 2018 -
Judge Paul D. Mathias March 30, 2000 -
Judge Terry A. Crone March 8, 2004 -
Fourth District
Judge Rudolph R. Pyle IIIPresiding Judge August 27, 2012 -
Judge Patricia A. Riley January 1, 1994 -
Judge Melissa S. May April 9, 1998 -
Fifth District
Judge Nancy H. VaidikPresiding Judge February 7, 2000 -
Judge Elaine B. Brown May 5, 2008 -
Judge Paul A. Felix July 28, 2023 -

Senior Judges

Click on a judge's name for a biography

The Court of Appeals utilizes the expertise of several of its former members to help reduce caseload burdens. Senior judges, provided for by Indiana law (I.C. ยง 33-23-3-1 et seq.), are former judges named to work part-time at trial courts across the state. In 1998, the law was amended to allow senior judges to contribute to the work of the Court of Appeals. Court of Appeals senior judges serve on three-judge panels and on the Court's motions panel.

Judge Margret G. Robb June 19, 2023 -  
Judge John G. Baker August 1, 2020 -
Judge Edward W. Najam, Jr. August 1, 2022 -
Judge Randall T. Shepard March 15, 2012 -

Court of Appeals Administrator

Larry L. Morris October 1, 2015 -

 Top FAQs