Language Translation
  Close Menu

The Grant County Sheriff's Office Merit Board is a crucial institution responsible for various aspects of managing the careers and conduct of Grant County Merit Deputies. Comprising five dedicated members – Gayle Armes, Larry Goins, Richard Bragg, Elizabeth Wright, and Bruce Bender – the board plays a pivotal role in ensuring transparency, fairness, and accountability within the department.

One of the most significant responsibilities of the Merit Board is their involvement in the discipline process for Grant County Sheriff Merit Deputies. Law enforcement agencies must maintain high standards of conduct and ethics, and when a deputy's actions come into question, it is the board's responsibility to ensure that due process is followed. They work closely with Grant County Sheriff Del Garcia and the Grant County Sheriff Executive Staff to review cases of alleged misconduct or policy violations, ensuring that deputies are held accountable for their actions while safeguarding their rights.

In addition to discipline, the Merit Board plays a crucial role in the hiring process of Grant County Sheriff Merit Deputies. This process directly impacts the quality and integrity of the law enforcement team, and the board collaborates with Sheriff Del Garcia and the Executive Staff to establish hiring criteria, participate in candidate interviews, and evaluate applicants based on their qualifications, background, and suitability for the role. Their input ensures that only the most qualified and ethical individuals are selected to serve the community.

Furthermore, each member of the Merit Board brings a unique perspective and expertise to the table, collectively ensuring that the Grant County Sheriff's Office operates with the highest level of professionalism, integrity, and accountability. Their collaboration with Sheriff Del Garcia and the Executive Staff enhances the department's ability to make informed decisions about the hiring and promotion of deputies, maintaining public trust and ensuring that law enforcement in Grant County continues to uphold the highest standards of service to the community.

Gayle Armes Merit Board 2023

Gayle Armes

Merit Board Member

Bruce Bender Merit Board 2023

Bruce Bender

Merit Board Member

Richard Bragg Merit Board 2023

Richard Bragg

Merit Board Member

Larry Goins Merit Board 2023

Larry Goins

Merit Board Member

Elizabeth Wright Merit Board 2023

Elizabeth Wright

Merit Board Member