Close Menu

Main Content

Awards and Nominations

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education’s (CHE) mission is, in part, to plan and coordinate the state’s postsecondary education system (IC 21-18-6-1(1)) and ensure that Indiana’s higher education system is aligned to meet the needs of students and the state. In order to plan and coordinate the postsecondary system while also guaranteeing alignment, the Commission develops a strategic plan (IC 21-18-8-1) which recognizes that overcoming the challenge to meet attainment goals depends on not only a strong partnership between Indiana colleges and the state but also on establishing deeper connections and more meaningful collaborations between businesses, service organizations and community foundations. 


In order to provoke, encourage and reward outstanding contributions to the advancement of the Commission's goals, the Commission has established a series of awards for its postsecondary and K-12 partners. 

Stan Jones Student Success Award

Created in 2017, the Stan Jones Student Success Award honors promising student success initiatives. Named in honor of the late Stan Jones, President of Complete College America and former Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education, this award builds upon his legacy of landmark education policy and student success initiatives, including the 21st Century Scholars program. Just as Stan was a tireless advocate for education, this award is given to programs that are helping to increase student success across the state.


  • Ivy Tech Community College - Associate Accelerated Program ("ASAP") helps high school graduates earn an associate degree in just 11 months and prepares them to transfer to a four-year college to earn their bachelor's degree. 
  • Purdue University West Lafayette - "Purdue Promise" is a student support program that intentionally combines four years of financial assistance with intensive, specialized aid for 21st Century Scholars. 


  • Indiana State University
  • Indiana University Southeast
  • Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College

Free Application for Federal Student Aid ("FAFSA") Completion Awards

The Commission recognizes high schools that achieve top FAFSA completion rates for graduating seniors by the April 15th deadline. 

2018 FAFSA Completion Awards Recipients

2017 FAFSA Completion Awards Recipients

Scholar Success Program ("SSP") Completion Awards

The Commission recognizes high schools that achieve top SSP completion rates, a requirement that all 21st Century Scholars must complete during high school.

2018 SSP Completion Awards Recipients

2017 SSP Completion Awards Recipients

​Gerald Bepko Faculty Community Engagement Grant Award

The Gerald Bepko Faculty Community Engagement Grant Award (Bepko Award) is presented bi-annually to recognize faculty at an Indiana institution who are exemplars of the scholarship of community engagement. The Bepko Award was established in 2019 to honor former Commission Member "Jerry" Bepko's legacy in his decade of service to the Indiana Commission for Higher Education.

Indiana faculty interested in applying for the Bepko Award must currently serve as a full-time faculty member at an Indiana public or private institution of higher education residing within the State of Indiana and be currently engaged in teaching, research or service commitments that contribute to the greater good of the community, amongst other criteria.

2019 Recipients

The Commission extended two $500 grants to:

  • Ball State University’s Schools Within the Context of Community
    • Eva Zygmunt
    • Kristin Cipollone
    • Kathryn Fletcher
    • Sheron Fraser-Burgess
    • Dorshell Stewart
  • Purdue University’s Engineering Projects in Community Service (EPICS)
    • William Oakes


The Indiana Commission for Higher Education Membership (IC 21-18-3-1) consists of fourteen (14) members appointed by the governor, one (1) of which must be a student representative and one (1) of which must be a full-time faculty member of a state educational institution. While appointed by the Governor, the student and faculty representatives are selected in part by his or her peers. For more information, read About the Commission or review current Commission Members.

Student Commission Member

The 2020 Student Application and Agreement to Serve is now closed. Students chosen for an interview will be notified on Wednesday May 6, 2020 to confirm a time and student interviews will be held on Friday, May 15, 2020. No alternative interview dates will be offered.

The Student Nominating Committee will make the final recommendations to the Governor's office to make the final appointment. The appointee will serve on the Commission beginning July 1, 2020 until June 30, 2022. 

Faculty Commission Member

The 2021 Faculty Nominating Committee will be accepting applications for the next Faculty Commission Member position beginning in February 2021. The committee will select nominees from which the Governor will make an appointment to the Commission. The appointee will serve on the Commission beginning July 1, 2021 until June 30, 2023.

News and FAQs

Top FAQs