Indiana law assesses a point value for each conviction of moving violations. The point value relates to the seriousness of the offense in posing a risk to traffic safety. Point values for offenses range from zero to ten, depending on the violation. Points stay active on an individual’s driving record for two years from the conviction date.
*Please check your browser's Downloads folder after clicking the button.
Driver Safety Program
State law provides that persons convicted of two or more traffic offenses within a 12-month period may be required to complete a BMV-approved Driver Safety Program (DSP). Individuals under 21 years of age are required to complete a DSP if, they are convicted of two or more traffic offenses. When the BMV is notified of these convictions, a DSP course must be completed within 90 days or driving privileges will be suspended. Notification of this requirement is mailed from the BMV. A court may also require an individual to complete a DSP course and use this requirement as an alternative to suspension of driving privileges; however, the court order may not specifically require participation in a BMV-approved DSP.
Any Indiana driver can take a DSP course. The BMV will apply a 4 point credit to an Indiana Official Driver Record for successful completion of a BMV-approved DSP. The credit may only be applied once every three years. However, if an additional course is completed, the time period of the credit will be extended for three years from the new course completion date.
BMV Approved Programs
The BMV has approved a variety of programs. The DSP curriculum is available in a classroom, DVD or online format. All of the providers have the same curriculum standards and all courses are a minimum of four hours in duration. The DSP courses do not teach an individual how to drive, but rather the courses provide information that will help improve defensive driving skills. The maximum cost for any of the BMV-approved DSP courses is $55. All drivers taking a DSP must pay any fees associated with the course. Allow 7 to 10 business days for completion results to be processed.
Please review the following BMV-approved driver safety program providers. To sign up for a particular course, call or email the provider directly with information provided below.
Still have questions?
Send us an email for more information about driver record points and driver safety programs.Email Us