Announcements and Links
NOTICE: Retailers of electronic cigarettes and e-liquid products can access information for electronic cigarettes and e-liquids by visiting the E-Liquid link found under the "Tobacco Certificate Resources" tab.
- Minimum Cigarette Price Information (05/31/2023 8:30 p.m.)
- IMPORTANT notice to Manufacturers, Distributors, and Retailers about changes to the PACT Act (updated 03/29/2021)
- Participating and Non-Participating Cigarette Brands
- Cigarette and Other Tobacco Product Distributors
- Manufacturers & Importers Application (not for e-liquid manufacturers)
- Memorandum Regarding Self-Service Tobacco Displays
Smoke Free Air Law
Indiana's "Smoke Free Air" Law (House Enrolled Act 1149) went into effect on July 1, 2012, and prohibits smoking in most public places and workplaces.
- Also referred to as a statewide smoking ban, the law sets a minimum standard for indoor workplaces and public places where smoking is regulated, and defines where people can and cannot smoke in communities where a current policy does not exist.
- A city or county may pass a stricter law than the statewide law by including additional smoking regulations.
- Smoking a lit cigarette, cigar, pipe or other tobacco device or smoking equipment is not permitted indoors, except in businesses that are exempted under the law.
Smoking Ban FAQ's (updated 06/15/15)
Smoking Ban Exception Form (for qualified businesses)
Tobacco 21 Law
Indiana’s "Tobacco 21" Law (Senate Enrolled Act 1) went into effect on July 1, 2020 and prohibits the sales of tobacco products – including cigarettes, smokeless tobacco, hookah tobacco, cigars, pipe tobacco, and electronic nicotine delivery systems (including e-cigarettes and e-liquids) – to anyone under the age of twenty-one (21).
Below is an overview of the changes:
- Minimum legal sale age increased from 18 to 21
- Includes cigarettes, non-combustible tobacco products including refillable e-liquid, other combustible tobacco products
- Requires updated signage for tobacco vending machines, etc.
- Age of requesting photo identification increased from appearance of 27 to 30
- Tobacco and vaping shops cannot be located within 1000 ft. of public schools (increased from 200 ft.)
- Clubs and fraternal clubs with designated smoking rooms must prohibit individuals under the age of 21 from entering their smoking room
- Tobacco shops must prohibit anyone under the age of 21 from entering, including employees
- Forbids sale of products containing Vitamin E Acetate
- Increased criminal penalties
- Class C Infraction for underage possession, use, or purchase
- Retail penalties based on previous 1 year:
- 0 previous citations: $400
- 1 previous citation: $800
- 2 previous citations: $1400
- 3 or more citations: $2000
- Class B Misdemeanor for 6 or more retail citations in 1 year.
Tobacco Retailer and Smoke Free Air Law Signs
By clicking the links below, you can print statutorily compliant signs for your tobacco retail business and the required Smoke Free Air Law signs for public places and places of employment.
Retailer Tobacco 21 Law: (Effective July 1, 2020)
- Retailer Tobacco 21 FAQ
- Tobacco Point of Sale, Door & Tobacco Machine Sign #1
- Tobacco Machine Sign #2 (Tobacco machines require signs #1 and #2)
- Tobacco Store Sign
Smoke Free Signage Requirements: (Effective July 1, 2012)
- Smoke Free Signage Requirements
- Cigar Specialty Store / Hookah Bar Sign
- Smoking Prohibited Sign
- No Smoking at Building Entrance Sign
- Smoking Prohibited in Restaurant
- Smoking Allowed Sign
Additional free signs are available from the Indiana State Department of Health's Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Commission at http://www.breatheindiana.com/