IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana State Library

Indiana State Library

Library > About the Library > Hours & Directions Hours & Directions

Hours of Operation (all times Eastern)

The Indiana State Library is open: 

Mon., Tues., Wed. & Fri. 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.*
Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Sunday Closed

* Please note: The Manuscripts & Rare Books Collection closes
 Thursdays at 4:30 p.m.

2016 Holiday Closings

The Indiana State Library will be closed on the following state and federal holidays, and Saturdays:

New Year's Day Friday January 1, 2016
New Year's Day Weekend Saturday January 2, 2016
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday January 18, 2016
Good Friday Friday March 25, 2016
Easter Weekend Saturday March 26, 2016
Primary Election Day Tuesday May 3, 2016
Mini Marathon Saturday May 7, 2016
Memorial Day Weekend Saturday May 28, 2016
Memorial Day Monday May 30, 2016
Independence Day Weekend Saturday July 2, 2016
Independence Day Monday July 4, 2016
Labor Day Weekend Saturday September 3, 2016
Labor Day Monday September 5, 2016
Columbus Day Monday October 10, 2016
General Election Day Tuesday November 8, 2016
Veteran's Day Friday November 11, 2016
Veteran's Day Saturday November 12, 2016
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 24, 2016
Lincoln's Birthday Friday November 25, 2016
Thanksgiving Weekend Saturday November 26, 2016
Washington's Birthday Friday December 23, 2016
Winter Holiday Weekend Saturday December 24, 2016
Christmas Day  Monday December 26, 2016

2017 Holiday Closings

The Indiana State Library will be closed on the following state and federal holidays, and Saturdays:

New Year's Day Weekend Saturday December 31, 2017
New Year's Day Monday January 2, 2017
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday January 16, 2017
Good Friday Friday April 14, 2017
Easter Weekend Saturday April 15, 2017
Mini Marathon Saturday May 6, 2017
Memorial Day Weekend Saturday May 27, 2017
Memorial Day Monday May 29, 2017
Independence Day Tuesday July 4, 2017
Labor Day Weekend Saturday September 2, 2017
Labor Day Monday September 4, 2017
Columbus Day Monday October 9, 2017
Veteran's Day Friday November 10, 2017
Veteran's Day Saturday November 11, 2017
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 23, 2016
Lincoln's Birthday Friday November 24, 2017
Thanksgiving Weekend Saturday November 25, 2017
Christmas Holiday Weekend Saturday December 23, 2017
Linconln's Birthday Friday December 24, 2017
Christmas Day Monday December 25, 2017
Washington's Birthday Tuesday December 26, 2017
New Years Weekend Saturday December 30, 2017

Parking Information

Many downtown garages within walking distance of the State Library offer commercial parking. Metered parking is available on most downtown streets, including Ohio St. and Senate Ave. An interactive map showing parking in downtown Indianapolis is available from Indianapolis Downtown, Inc.

Directions to the Indiana State Library

Indiana State Library
315 West Ohio Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202-3210 (
Get Directions)

Nearby Hotels and Places to Eat

Visitors to the Indiana State Library who need to find a place to stay or a restaurant should visit the Indianapolis Downtown website, or check the Indianapolis Convention & Visitors Association website. There are also two cafeterias within the Indiana Government Center within a few minutes of the State Library.

Updated 11-18-2016