Important Notices, Guidelines, Updates to Law - Producer Licensing Division
View IDOI Newsroom Page
September 21 – An updated SERVICE REQUEST FORM and Producer Licensing FAQs have been published. IMPORTANT NOTICE: Changes of address, telephone, email, fax, or an addition or removal of a business entity’s Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP), are no longer done through the Service Request Form. Contact information must be updated online through www.nipr.com or www.sircon.com/Indiana. DRLPs must be maintained online through a business entity’s AgencyEDGE account or at www.sircon.com/Indiana by selecting “Maintain your firm association” on the left-hand side.
August 18 – An updated SERVICE REQUEST FORM has been published. IMPORTANT NOTICE: Letters of Clearance are no longer issued by the Indiana Department of Insurance. A change in license status with the state (e.g., a license cancellation/voluntary surrender) may be viewed online through the National Insurance Producer Registry.
August 16 – Updates to the Variable Life & Annuity Line of Authority webpage at www.in.gov/idoi/2750.htm, clarifying that if a producer becomes unregistered with a broker-dealer through FINRA or no longer licensed with a FINRA Series 6 or 7 license, the producer is no longer eligible to hold the Variable Life & Annuity line of authority in Indiana and must cancel the line of authority from the producer's license before renewing the license. A line of authority may be cancelled through the IDOI SERVICE REQUEST FORM. A producer may verify his or her registration/licensure with FINRA at brokercheck.finra.org.
Online DRLP Association Maintenance Now Available. Effective August 11, 2017, a business entity licensed with the Indiana Department of Insurance may add or remove a Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP) associated with the business entity online at www.sircon.com/Indiana by selecting “Maintain your firm association” on the left-hand side of the page. DRLPs may also be maintained through a business entity’s AgencyEDGE account. A processing fee may apply for each transaction. It is the responsibility of the business entity to ensure that it has a proper DRLP listed with the Indiana Department of Insurance. posted August 11, 2017
August 9 – Updates to Producer Licensing FAQs
June 30 – An updated Continuing Education Provider Course Application has been posted online at www.in.gov/idoi/2454.htm. Also, an updated Temporary Emergency Independent Adjuster application ("CATLOSS Form #0711") has been posted online at www.in.gov/idoi/2740.htm.
2017 LICENSING LEGISLATIVE UPDATES. See 2017 Legislation Affecting the Indiana Department of Insurance. Specifically, HEA 1318, effective July 1, 2017, provides that insurance producer education courses may cover sales, motivation, psychology, and time management. These topics will be listed on course applications and renewal applications under the course category “Professional Development.” Also, prospective continuing education (CE) providers may now electronically submit supporting materials for a course. HEA 1318 also provides that Independent Insurance Adjuster applicants renewing or reinstating a license are no longer required to submit Social Security numbers to IDOI. HEA 1137, effective July 1, 2017, decreases the Bail Agent renewal fee from $600 to $300. posted June 30, 2017
May 12 – Effective May 12, 2017 at 8:00 a.m. CDT (rather than May 16th as noted in March 30th notice), various retaliatory fees for non-resident license applications and renewals have been added or updated. A listing of non-resident retaliatory fees may be viewed at www.in.gov/idoi/2600.htm. The states where retaliatory fees were added include: District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Wyoming. States that have had one or more retaliatory fee updated include: California, Connecticut, Massachusetts, and New Jersey. All retaliatory fees for Illinois have remained the same.
March 30 – See NIPR NOTIFICATION re: Indiana Retaliatory Fee Update. Effective 4:00 p.m. CDT on Thursday, May 11th, 2017, processing of all Indiana Non-Resident Licensing and Renewal Gateway applications will be temporarily suspended to add and update various retaliatory fees. Any transactions submitted during this period will be declined until Gateway processing resumes on Tuesday, May 16th, 2017. Effective May 16th, 2017 Indiana will add and update various retaliatory fees for the non-resident licensing applications. The new and updated fees are separated by transaction type and license class.
March 23 – Updates to FAQs and guidelines on transferring a resident producer/agent license to Indiana from another state. IDOI no longer requires a Letter of Clearance from an agent's previous resident state to be submitted with a new resident license application, unless cancellation of the agent's previous resident license cannot be verified on the national online producer database.
March 16 – An updated CE Provider Course Approval Application has been posted at www.in.gov/idoi/2454.htm.
March 13 – Please join us in congratulating Chet Pietras, Deputy Commissioner of Agency Services, on his retirement. Chet’s last day with the Department was March 10, 2017 after serving for 12 years as Deputy Commissioner. Randall Evans, Director of the Title Division and Medical Malpractice Division, has been named as the new Deputy Commissioner of Agency Services. A listing of Agency Services/Licensing contacts is available on the bottom of the Licensing home page.
February 24 – An updated Service Request Form has been posted.
Notice to Title and Ethics Continuing Education (CE) Course Providers: When submitting new or renewal applications for Title or Ethics CE course approval, course providers must select the “Title” Course Category for the course to apply to Title CE requirements, and course providers must select the “Ethics” Course Category for the course to apply to Ethics CE requirements. Producers will not receive credit for Title or Ethics CE if the appropriate Course Category is not selected. posted February 17, 2017
HAPPY 200 YEARS, INDIANA! Please join IDOI in celebrating the Indiana Bicentennial by downloading the IDOI Bicentennial flyer, printing it out and sharing it with your friends, colleagues, and consumers. The flyer, as well as an infographic that can be linked to your website or social media pages, is available on the IDOI website at www.in.gov/idoi/3051.htm. posted October 18, 2016
HIP EMPLOYER LINK. The State of Indiana’s HIP Employer Link now provides premium assistance for low-income Hoosiers eligible for their employer’s insurance plan. More information can be found here: http://hipemployerlink.in.gov. posted October 18, 2016
August 10 - Added webpage showing licensing "retaliatory fees" charged to non-resident individuals and business entities residing in states that charge greater non-resident fees to residents of Indiana.
August 10 - Updates to Adjusters pages for Business Entities clarifying distinctions between Independent Adjuster and Public Adjuster requirements and making other modifications.
August 10 - Updates to IDOI Licensing Division staff contact information. Contact information may be found at the bottom of the main Licensing webpage at www.in.gov/idoi/2446.htm.
August 1 - FFM Agent and Broker registration and training for plan year 2017 is now available. See the announcement and further guidance on the CMS website here.
June 23 - CMS announced that plan year 2016 Federally-facilitated Marketplace (FFM) registration and training for agents and brokers closes on July 15, 2016 at 11:59 AM ET. Information on FFM registration and training for plan year 2017 is coming soon.
March 31 - Release of new license application and renewal processes and reporting requirements for Bail and Recovery Agents and Bail/Recovery Class Providers at http://in.gov/idoi/2491.htm. See the attached memo regarding the release.
March 24 - Updates to Request for Waiver of Pre-Licensing Education Requirement
March 8 - Updates to the ADA accommodations language under the Special Exam Considerations section at http://in.gov/idoi/2482.htm#6.
February 25 - An updated Service Request Form and CE Extension Request Form were posted at http://in.gov/idoi/2450.htm.
February 16 - Updates to Adjusters pages clarifying distinctions between Individual Independent Adjuster and Public Adjuster licensing requirements.
February 15 - Updates to Producer Licensing FAQs
February 4 - An updated "Continuing Education Exemption Form for Retired Insurance Producers and Solicitors" was posted at http://in.gov/idoi/2598.htm.
October 30 - A new webpage was created at http://in.gov/idoi/2998.htm giving guidance on transferring a resident producer license from one state to another.
MARKETPLACE OPEN ENROLLMENT. As a reminder, FFM/healthcare.gov plan year 2016 agent and broker registration and training is now available in English and Spanish via the CMS Enterprise Portal at https://portal.cms.gov/ for Open Enrollment beginning November 1, 2015 and ending January 31, 2016. Agents and brokers must complete the annual registration process prior to assisting consumers in the Health Insurance Marketplace. If you have any questions, please visit the Agents and Brokers Resources webpage or email the FFM Producer and Assister Help Desk at FFMProducer-AssisterHelpDesk@cms.hhs.gov.
July 10 - Release of updated Accident & Health and Life, Accident & Health exam content outlines on http://www.in.gov/idoi/2480.htm. Updates were made to the exams and exam outlines to reflect changes in the Affordable Care Act (ACA). See "Revision History" at the bottom of each outline.
July 1 - DHS Producer License for Non-residents - Effective today, IC 27-1-15.6-8.2 provides for a non-resident DHS (Designated Home State) Producer license for non-resident individuals and business entities seeking licensure for a line of authority offered in Indiana that is not offered in their home state. See more information at: http://in.gov/idoi/2996.htm.
January 27 - APPROVAL OF HIP 2.0. If you are a Marketplace certified insurance agent, be aware that HIP 2.0 has been approved. Information to help you with this new program can be found at the following links: www.in.gov/fssa/hip/2461.htm and http://www.hip.in.gov/.
CLARIFICATION OF THE REQUIREMENT FOR THREE (3) HOURS OF ETHICS FOR PRODUCERS HOLDING LIFE, HEALTH, VARIABLE LIFE, AND VARIABLE ANNUITY QUALIFICAITONS.
The continuing education requirement for residents who hold licenses with life, health, variable life, and variable annuity qualifications has changed. Three (3) of the twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education must be related to ethical practices in the marketing and sale of life, health, or annuity insurance products.
For clarification, the legislative change in Indiana Code IC 27-1-15.7-2(a) is not intended to be imposed in the middle of a producer's renewal period and therefore producers will not be required to obtain the ethics requirement before they renew the next time. The ethics requirement applies to renewal periods that will start after July 2014. During this subsequent renewal period producers will need to complete this ethics requirement before the end of that renewal period.
We have not placed a specific completion date as Indiana producers are still transitioning to birth month renewals. Going forward the ethics requirement will be required as part of the twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education every renewal period. An insurance producer with qualifications in more than one line of authority will not be required to complete more than twenty-four (24) hours of credit to renew the license. IC 27-1-15.7-2(a) and (e). Producers taking three (3) hours of ethics as part of their CFP certification renewal will be compliant with this new requirement.
Continuing education providers of ethic courses should be reviewing their course content to ensure compliance with the legislative requirement. A syllabus will not be provided by the Department.
Role of Agent/Broker in Health Insurance Marketplace (CCIIO May 1, 2013) - Questions about registering on the Federally Facilitated Health Insurance Marketplace can be directed to the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services' regional office at: 312-886-6432 or email ROCHIORA@cms.hhs.gov.
Indiana to Charge Retaliatory Fees for Residents of CA, CT, MA and NJ (September 13, 2012)
2011 Summary of Legislative Changes for Producers (Feb. 2, 2012)
Changes to License Renewal Process for Producers/Birth Month Renewal (February 2, 2012)
Birth Month Conversion How To Guide (IDOI 2012)
Birth Month Conversion Chart (IDOI 2012)
Temporary Emergency Adjuster Licensing Procedures (Effective July 1, 2011)
How to Update Your E-mail Address (Sircon 2010)
How to Look Up CE Courses (Sircon 2010)
How to Look Up CE Transcript (Sircon 2010)
Bulletin 169 - Online Printing of Insurance Producer Licenses (April 1, 2009)
Bulletin 160 - Producer Minimum Flood Training Requirements (February 12, 2008)
Bulletin 157 - Personal Property and Casualty Fees (October 25, 2007)
Effective July 1, 2007:
- Surplus Lines licenses change from a one-year license to a two-year license;
- Resident applicants are no longer required to submit a Surplus Lines tax guarantee bond in the amount of $20,000; and
- The license or application fee increased from twenty dollars ($20) to eighty dollars ($80) for resident producer/business entity applicants.
Bulletin 135 - Title Insurance License Requirements (December 6, 2005)
Bulletin 108 - Reinstatement of Insurance Producer License (February 11, 2002)