Close Menu


History - The Wabash River Heritage Corridor Commission was authorized with the passage of House Enrolled Act 1382 by the 1991 Indiana General Assembly. The current applicable Indiana Code, IC 14-13-6, was amended by the 1997 and 2005 General Assemblies.

Mission - The Wabash River Heritage Corridor Commission, representing the Wabash River Heritage Corridor, shall protect and enhance the natural, cultural, historical, and recreational resources and encourage sustainable development of the corridor.This will be accomplished by stimulating public interest, encouraging the exchange of information, and supporting the establishment of common goals and cooperative actions of people and communities within the Wabash River Heritage Corridor.

Vision - Our vision is to help local communities preserve, enhance, and interpret for educational and inspirational benefit the unique and significant natural, cultural, historical, and recreational resources of the Wabash River Heritage Corridor; promote public/private partnerships; create a corridor identity; expand a variety of opportunities and linkages; encourage a broad range of economic development improving the quality of life for present and future generations.