Who is eligible for Worker's Compensation Benefits?
WCB Mission Statement
To provide efficient dispute resolution for injured workers and employers by administering both formal adjudication and informal dispute resolution services; to serve the public by answering inquiries regarding the Indiana Worker's Compensation system; and to collect statistical information regarding workplace injuries in Indiana.
News and Notices
The Board will be transitionaning to EDI Version 3.1 on 1/1/2019. You can see more information here
Website Notices 8/9/2018
Please join us in the Auditorium of the Government Center South, 402 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, Indiana on Monday, September 17th from 1-3 p.m. to learn about Indiana’s adoption of the ODG Formulary and how it will apply to worker’s compensation cases beginning on January 1, 2019. You can review the law here.
Please register here for this free seminar.
Website Notices 8/9/2018
On Tuesday, August 21, 2018 at 2:30 Eastern, we will offer a Claims Release 3.1 EDI for First Report of Injury (FROI) and Subsequent Report of Injury (SROI) Webinar Information Session. We strongly encourage all stakeholders to take advantage of this opportunity. The webinar will assist Trading Partners to understand and interpret the technical requirements for Claims Release 3.1 EDI for the State of Indiana. Register here today , for full details click here.
Website Notices 6/29/2018
The Board has posted the EDI Claims Release 3.1 Requirement Tables, Version 1.0. The Requirement Tables are immediately available for download on the EDI Requirements Page of INWCB EDI Claims Website: https://INWCBEDI.info/requirements . The Event Table, Element Requirement Table and Edit Matrix each contain a change log worksheet that will identify any changes made to that specific table after these initial requirements are published.
Website Notices 6/12/2018
A new protocol for submitting settlement agreements to the Board will go into effect within the next 30-45 days. A similar notice will be issued at that time. The Board is working with the Indiana Office of Technology to perfect the procedure and anticipates there may be slight changes; however, the Checklist should be followed whenever possible as of the date of this notice. Please take a minute to familiarize yourself with, and prepare to meet the requirements which can be found below. Thank you in advance for your assistance as we move to a more efficient means of addressing settlement agreements.
Website Notices 5/31/2018
The 2018 Self-Insurance application and guidelines are now available. Please click here for more information and to download these forms.
Website Notices 5/2/2018
Public Law 204, previously SB290, will go into effect on July 1st, 2018. This bill imposes new time frames for completing certain tasks and changes the way penalties are assessed for failing to maintain worker’s compensation insurance coverage on an employer’s workers. It also extends the renewal period for Second Injury Fund wage replacement benefits from 150 weeks to three years.
Public Law 206, previously SB369, adopts a formulary for certain drugs often prescribed for injured workers. FAQs and guidance will be forthcoming before Appendix A to the Official Disability Guidelines; informally referred to as the “ODG,” will go into effect on January 1, 2019.
Website Notices 4/17/2018
The Board will be implementing a new protocol for submitting “C” claim settlement documents in the near future. The legal environment surrounding Indiana worker’s compensation cases is changing. We are seeing many more settlements. Fewer cases are resolved through hearings. Therefore, once we have the internal processes in place, documents submitted for approval in “C” claims will go to the respective Single Hearing Members. Please disregard any documentation you may have seen, as the Board has not finalized anything in this regard. Thank you.
New Nurse Case Manager Guidelines can be found here. These replace those previously posted on this website.
Website Notices 1/2018
Denial of a Provider Fee Application or refusal to pay a bill from a medical provider for authorized care provided to an injured worker based solely on 631 IAC 1-1-32 (2)(A)(i) is improper. Provisions in the Indiana Administrative Code are rules authorized by IC 22-3-1-3 to assist the Board in carrying out the Worker’s Compensation Act, not laws themselves.
Medical providers may use the following link available through the Board’s online services to ascertain the name of an injured worker’s employer, worker’s compensation insurance carrier and that carrier’s claim identification number, when available.
No audio or visual recording may be made of any worker’s compensation hearing, conference or proceeding.
Social security numbers (SSN) of injured workers must be redacted from all documentation prior to submission to the Board. The Application for Adjustment of Claim is the only exception to this requirement.
See Past News and Notices
- Notice: The Second Injury Fund Annual Report and 2018 Assessment has been issued here
Indiana is set to formally begin its enforcement protocol concerning the untimely filing of statutorily required forms and payment of benefits.
There will be a grace period on penalties through September 30, 2017. During this period, carriers and third party administrators will receive letters and notice of actions found to be in violation of IC 22-3-3-7, 22-3-7-16, 22-3-4-13(a) and 22-3-7-37 so that appropriate remedies can be put in place. We also encourage your comments and concerns with this process so they may be addressed by the Board prior to October 1st, 2017.
For all injury dates on or after October 1, 2017, penalties will be assessed. Pursuant to IC 22-3-4-15 escalation of penalties will apply where more than one violation occurs in a single cause concerning the same injured worker and the same injury date.
In the future, violations of 631 IAC 1-1-26 shall also become the subject of notice by the Board. I ask that you look at your practices to make sure they comply with the 15 day time frame.
Thank you for all you do to get injured workers treated and back to work,
Linda Hamilton, Chairman
- Notice: This year our two dollar policy assessments will be issued August 1, 2017 with a due date of October 31, 2017. If you have any questions please contact Mary Taivalkoski or David Babcock.
- Notice: No version of a Worker's Compensation Handbook put out by the Worker's Compensation Board of Indiana that can be found online should be relied on as accurate. This website contains updated information and all changes to the law or procedures of the Board will be set out here. Handbooks or Guidelines put out by other organizations are neither reviewed nor approved by the Board for accuracy.
- Notice: Failure to timely submit State Form 48557 as set out at IC 22-3-3-7(b) may result in the rejection of the request for additional time and the imposition of a fine. IC 22-3-4-15.
- Notice: In cases where there is an accident number, filing of an Application for Adjustment of Claim with a stipulated settlement agreement is unnecessary and the Application will no longer be filed or processed.
- Notice: Please note that the carriers direct written premiums should be 889,525,000. Unfortunately, the zeros were initially omitted. Please see the updated Certificate for Worker's Compensation Carriers here.
- Notice: The 2017 Second Injury Fund recommendation report and certificates are now available. Please click here to review.
- Notice: The Second Injury Fund status report is now available. Please click here for more information.
- Notice: Effective Monday, August 1, 2016, the mileage reimbursement rate is increasing from $0.36 per mile to $0.38 per mile.
- Notice: $2 per policy assessment emails were sent out on May 11, 2016 and payments are due on October 31, 2016. This fee is to be paid only by insurance carriers who wrote worker's compensation policies in the 2015 calendar year. If this applies to your company and you did not receive an assessment email, please contact Mary Taivalkoski at mtaivalkoski@wcb.IN.gov for assistance.
- Notice: Effective Monday, February 22, 2016 the mileage reimbursement rate is decreasing from $0.40 per mile to $0.36 per mile.
- Notice: The 2016 Second Injury Fund recommendation report and certificates are now available. Please click here to review.
- Notice: The Second Injury Fund status report is now available. Please click here for more information.
- Notice: The WCB now offers online payment options which allow you to make payments by eCheck or Credit Card. The online payment tool can be found under Online Services or by clicking here. For a list of payment reasons, please visit the Online Payment Options page.
- Notice: The Indiana Worker’s Compensation Board has issued the following guidelines for the use of Nurse Case Managers (“NCM”) in the administration of compensation claims:
- A NCM may be involved in a claim to schedule appointments, help facilitate care suggested by the medical provider, and to report back to the employer and/or carrier. However, a NCM should not express opinions, to either the injured worker or the medical provider, regarding an injured worker’s course of medical care or otherwise attempt to influence the process. Additionally, a claims adjuster should not attempt to direct the care provided to an injured worker by the authorized treating doctor.
- Notice: $2 per policy assessment emails were sent out on June 30, 2015 and payments are due on October 31, 2015. If you did not receive the assessment email, please contact Rob Howell at mailto:rhowell@wcb.IN.gov?subject=%242%20Per%20Policy%20Assessment for assistance.
- Notice: Effective July 1, 2015, the Mileage Reimbursement Rate has been lowered to $.40/Mile. For historical mileage rates, click here.
- Notice: Effective July 1, 2015, TTD/TPD and PPI benefits are increasing. This increase only applies to injuries occurring after 7/1/2015. The revised rates can be found here.
- Notice: The 2015 Self-Insurance application and guidelines are now available. Please click here for more information and to download these forms.
- Notice: The 2015 Second Injury Fund recommendation report and certification forms are now available. Please click here to view.
- Notice: The 2015 Second Injury Fund status report is now available. Please click here to view.
- Notice: As of July 1, 2014, hospitals and hospital facilities are to be reimbursed at 200% of Medicare. See IC 22-3-3-5.2 (b) and IC 22-3-6-1 (j).
- Notice: As of July 1, 2014, Reimbursement for Repackaged Drugs has been limited. See IC 22-3-3-4.5.
- Notice: The Agreement to Compensation - SF 1043 form is now available via the Board's Forms Portal system. Currently, it is only to be used to file compliance copies of TTD or TPD agreements. PPI and PTD agreements must still be filed in hardcopy.
- Notice: Effective July 1, 2014, TTD/TPD and PPI benefits are increasing. This increase only applies to injuries occurring after 7/1/2014. The revised rates can be found here.
- Notice: The Board has made available the guidelines for determining the pecuniary liability of an employer to a medical service facility. This document can be found here.
- Notice: The 2014 Second Injury Fund recommendation report and certificates are now available. Please click here to review.
- Notice: Please note that the Notice of Suspension of Compensation and/or Benefits - SF 54217 form has been revised to allow for the suspension of compensation as well as benefits. As a result, please refrain from utilizing the Report Of Temporary Total Disability (TTD)/Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) Termination/Reduction - SF 38911 to suspend a TTD/TPD agreement. The purpose of the 38911 is to terminate a TTD/TPD agreement whereas the 54217 should be used to suspend.
- Notice: Effective Monday, February 25, 2013, the Worker's Compensation Board of Indiana will no longer process 1043 agreements or waivers for 0% PPI ratings UNLESS filed as part of an agreed to stipulation, as required by 631 IAC 1-1-11.
- Notice: The 2013 Second Injury Fund Report and Assessment, along with relevant certificates, are now ready and have been uploaded to our website. Please click here to review and complete.
- Notice: The pilot program which was launched to test a new, online method of forms submission has concluded and the results have been extremely favorable. This tool is now available to the general public. A link to the tool may be found under the "Online Services" portion of this page which is located in the upper, right-hand corner. Upon accessing the tool, you will be given the option to either register or login. Registration is fairly simple but please be prepared to provide the FEIN of your company. The system will automatically assign a username and password and provide that information to the user via e-mail. The password can be changed but the username cannot. Once you have received your credentials, you may login immediately. Upon doing so, you will have the opportunity to edit your account or input forms. Currently, the available forms are limited to the Notice of Inability to Determine Liability/Request for Additional Time - SF 48557, Notice of Denial of Benefits - SF 53914 and Notice of Suspension of Compensation and/or Benefits - SF 54217. Regardless of the form chosen, you will be asked to identify your claim by providing the social security number and date of injury. Upon claim identification, the system will ask a few form-relevant questions. Once answered and submitted, you will receive immediate feedback via e-mail. If no first report of injury is on record for a given claim, you will not be able to proceed.
- In response to overwhelming public concern, we have migrated this tool to a secure environment. As such, we have adjusted the timeframe for adoption. While we encourage immediate adoption of this system, we will continue to process forms received via postal mail until Monday, January 7, 2013. If you require additional time to make this change, please petition the Board. If you encounter any issues with this new system, please contact Rob Howell.
- Notice: On August 1, 2012, the Board released revised versions of both the Notice of Inability to Determine Liability / Request for Additional Time - SF 48557 and the Notice of Denial of Benefits - SF 53914 forms. The purpose of the revisions is to provide a means for adjustors to communicate the medical-only period of a claim. Our compliance program has demonstrated that many of the penalties we have issued for lack of timely filing are, ultimately, due to a medical-only period preceding an alleged disability. As we appeared to be rescinding a great number of penalties due to this situation, the decision was made to alter the most relevant forms to capture the medical-only period thereby avoiding future, inappropriate notices of penalty. We would ask that all parties begin utilizing these new forms exclusively by no later than September 26, 2012. In addition, the Board is currently conducting a pilot program of an online data capture system that will, eventually, replace these forms. The pilot program will run for no fewer than sixty (60) days. Upon completion, we will post notice and usage instructions on our website along with a timeline for mandatory adoption.
- Thank you for your patience and assistance as we continue to develop both our compliance program and our electronic filing system.
- Notice: The following is a brief clarification regarding permanent partial impairment (PPI) ratings to the shoulder and hip. Please note that when injuries are specific to either of those body parts, because both are part of the torso, the impairment rating should be made to the body as a whole. This explanation is intended to provide clarity and direction to all involved parties, particularly physicians, who make the actual assessments on which we all rely. Please contact Kathy Haynes for assistance with or questions regarding the calculation of ratings.
- Notice: The 2012 Self-Insurance application and guidelines are now available. Please click here for more information and to download these forms.
- Notice: Effective May 21, 2012, the Worker's Compensation Board of Indiana will require that all filings be made on the most recent State form. These forms are available on our website and notice will be given via e-mail to our newsletter subscribers when a form has been amended. Filings made on outdated forms will be rejected and may subject the filer to penalties related to tardiness. For questions or assistance with forms, please contact Alan Buckley or Dirinda Asher.
- Clarification Regarding Report of Attending Physician Form: As of this date, usage of the new State Form 2118, Report of Attending Physician, shall not be mandatory.
The new SF 2118 is clear, concise and, most importantly, relevant to how PPI awards are accurately calculated for approval. Adjusters will ultimately be required to use it, as well as the electronic versions of SF 1043 and 38911, in the upcoming year. However, the Board will give advance notice of this requirement.
Physicians will not be asked to complete this form but should use it as a guideline while dictating their own. We do encourage all interested parties to begin using this form, to which the physician's dictated report can be attached, as soon as practicable. Thank you for your consideration and support.
- Notice: The Board is hereby and immediately requesting that all Agreement to Compensation (SF 1043), Notice of Suspension of Medical Benefits (SF 54217), Notice of Denial of Benefits (SF 53914) and Request for Additional Time (SF 48557) forms be proceeded by an electronically filed First Report of Injury (FROI). Failure to do so will result in the rejection of your form. This is an administrative ruling.
- Notice: Please note that ALL balanced bill provider fee applications must be accompanied by the $60 filing fee. The presence of an existing application for adjustment of claim has no bearing on this mandate. Balanced bill provider fee applications received since 7/1/2011 are subject to this fee and will not be processed unless accompanied by said payment.