Language Translation
  Close Menu


Franklin Township

Franklin Township is the 35.53 square miles between Union and Needham Townships within Johnson County.  As of the 2010 census the population is 20,685 with 8503 housing units.

The City of Franklin was platted in 1823.  The city of Franklin (the county seat of Johnson County) as well as the surrounding unincorporated area fall within the township. Franklin is home to most Johnson County government offices, the county courthouse and Franklin College.

The unincorporated area of the township is largely zoned agricultural and is filled with family farms dating back multiple generations.  Fire protection is provided by Franklin Fire Department.  Children of the township attend Franklin Community Schools.  Police service is provided by Franklin City within city limits and the Johnson County Sheriff's Department in the unincorporated areas.